Categories
Incidents Short story

Old but not forgotten contests


Not just one, but two exciting contests that we held in Blogworld, one by Chatterbox and the other by Ruchi, caught the fancy of a lot of bloggers. The catch though, was that we were not allowed to reveal the ‘author’s name’ or publicise it on our respective blogs. Which, obviously ensured a very fair voting system, with wonderful results. For a change, it was posts that really deserved the prize, who won 🙂 And that is really far cry from all those blog contests that thrive only on votes.

So the first was a completely awesome ‘Complete the story’ contest by the princess of fiction – Chatterbox. Now every time we read or hear the words Will or Grace, Chatterbox comes to our mind. And so does Vimmu’s top post that was an outright winner 🙂 The Grand Finale was as interesting as the IIFA awards 😉 Btw, guys and girls, a HUGE thank you to everyone who voted for my post. Here it is: ‘Escape’ Now, Pinash said ‘Writer, who are you?’ And here I am, PNA 🙂

The second contest was an equally exciting. This was another complete the story contest titled ‘And then...’ Now Ruchi had promised exciting prizes ‘up for grabs’ and she sure kept her words. The winner actually won a Landmark voucher for Rs.1000!!! Sigh!!! If on;y I’d come first instead of second 😈 This is my entry, folks, ‘A game of shame and revenge’ – written with our one and only Kalmadi in mind 😉 and I am so thankful to everyone who has read, commented and voted for it 🙂 This contest again worked only on the basis of votes, and as expected, the truly deserving posts won 🙂 This was my most favourite post – among all the entries – and I am so glad it won 🙂

So there, people. Unfortunately, exciting contests like these do not often get the publicity they deserve. However, Chatterbox and Ruchi, please take a bow, for organizing these and giving us a lovely opportunity to have some fun 🙂

24 replies on “Old but not forgotten contests”

Congratulations Pals! I had not known about Ruchi’s contest. Will read your entry. Am sure it must have been great!
Awww.. thanks Smitha! I won’t say it was great, but I think it touched a cord somewhere, with readers because it was at the time of the CWG scam!
And yes, organizing contests is no game! Here’s to CB and Ruchi!
Amen to that!

yeah yeah..when will you have a contest??
As soon as I find a rich and generous sponsor! Any takers, peoples??

Congratulations for coming second..and awesome job CB and Ruchi 🙂
Thanks, and I second and third you in congratulating CB and Ruchi

I am yet go through Ruchi’s contest 😥 Missed all the fun. Why? How?!!

yay to such contests and as long as the organizers don’t block comments am all for it :mrgreen: LOL!

So are you gonna treat us to Kaju Katli or Cheese Paranthas to celebrate your win? 🙄 Kya win re? I was only a runner up!!

I know….those contests were damn good fun and I think everyone enjoyed reading the entries and the comment thread…. 😀

Congrats to you for two great entries !!! 🙂 🙂

Why dont u start a contest, Pal ???? 😉

Congratulations Pals! CB’s contest sure was brilliantly organized. I loved your story :).

Yet to read your post on CWG…will do it ASAP. I’m sure it would be as hard-hitting and thought-provoking as many of your other posts :).

You’re right. Many a times contests do not get the kind of publicity they deserve. Didnt know about Ruchi’s contest :(. But I’m sure it would have been as exciting and as much fun.

Here’s to CB and Ruchi!

Oooh, congrats on 2nd place Pal…,

You have so much patience to participate in so many contests…I keep getting the messags, but dont have time or the patience to sit and write… esp since am writing for a living… 😀

Congo! Btw, another exciting contest coming up in Cafe GingerChai shortly… 🙂
LR, I loved BPL, but sadly, it was a damn squib at the end, as the only people following it were the two teams that reached the finals!!! There was no thrill towards the finish, which is a big thing in a contest. I do hope the next contest scores on all these factors too.

Congrat Pallavi, I did not know you had won wah wah … and yes indeed Kudos to CB for the contest it was indeed a good one .. Pity i did not win other than that it was fantabulous he heheeheh 🙂

mere ko bhi jeetna hai .. I guess i will organise one on my blog and make sure i win it 🙂

Bikram’s

That’s such a nice tribute to CB and Ruchi 🙂 I was soooo caught up in my car issue, I couldn’t participate in that 😦
But I did read your Kalmadi story. It was awesome!
Thanks Priya!

Surely conducting a competition is a hectic task.. kudos to Ruchi and CB… I didn’t participated in both them makes me sad 😦
You’re hardly around these days, Kanagu! Yenna matter?! 😉

So, what do you think?