Friday Feast – Cheese Paratha


Simple cheese parathas are a sure hit with Kids (er… and non-calorie-conscious-adults too ;-)). And the best part – You don’t even need a side-dish 😉 This is tasty just on its own!

All you need: Dough, Grated Cheese. Roll dough, pile on the cheese, fold from all sides, roll again, and cook on both sides! Finito!!!

More enthusiastic cook-ers can even try out variations by adding in some chopped onions, coriander, blah blah blah!

For lazy bones like me, this is a simply perfect one-meal dish!

Recipe courtesy Sanyash!

Now I leave you with two pictures that will leave you hungry…

Roll dough, pile on ball of grated cheese, roll again
Cook on both sides, crunch asap

(Due apologies for such bad quality pictures)

I hope you try this out soon-est and let me know how it turned out.

39 thoughts on “Friday Feast – Cheese Paratha

  1. It’s my fav too 😀
    I add finely chopped onions and green chillies too. Sigh!
    Sounds yummm!!!!
    Try some day with Red Liecester cheese- you’ll love it! 😀
    Never tried with red leicester… oooh, my shopping list is getting longer 😉
    Am making some now. Evil you are Pals 😀
    Lol!! Really? Me happy happy!!!

  2. Oh yeah. I have tried this is with both Paneer and mozzarella, and is a hit every time. That looks yummy 🙂
    Oh yes, its super awesome with Paneer 😉

  3. Cheeseeeeeeeeeee 😛 my best friend when am mad and hungry 🙄 Yum and try dipping them in Roasted red pepper hummus and I assure you will see Greek gods dancing infront of ya 😆
    Oooohhh, Saks, that sounds yummy!!!!!! Off to the supermarket right now, to get the hummus! And Greek Gods… mmmmm… that sounds even more delicious than the paratha/dip 😉

  4. will try it out yaar ! you and urmi are not letting me take a break from my cooking spree ????:0
    Lol!!!!! Sorry!!
    Last week one of Siva’s classmates parents called me and sort of complained why I keep on sending him a variety of dishes . She is working and now her MIL wants her to get up early and cook a variety of dishes for the kids :))))))
    Ha ha!!! But why can’t the MIL do it herself 😉

  5. Pal, u can publish a book on “Easy cooking Recipes” !!! LOL !!! U seem to be on a roll, in cooking… 😉 😉 But every dish makes sure its so divinely tempting…thanks for this idea, I am making it today for the girls… 😛 😛 😛
    He he, would love to!!!! Thanks, Uma. You going to make this today? Awesome 🙂 Do tell me how it turned out 🙂

    1. Yes, I did it Pal….only thing which I did extra was – mix some finely cut onions and grated carrot to the cheese. It was yummy and I was happy with some veggies inside…. 😉 😛 The girls hogged on it….very easy to carry when we go out and want something to eat. They ate it in the car, on the way to Endhiran… 😉 😉

  6. C’mon Pallo this is sooo tempting 😦 Unfair !!! I want to stay as far away from cheese as possible…but I will surely try this for Samarth who is a cheese-addict 🙂
    Lol!! I’m sure he will love it!
    Did you use Mozzarella? I have both Paneer and mozzarella at home currently and would love to try this soonest 🙂 and the suggestion given by your friend rgd the red pepper hummus dip seems DIVINE 🙂
    Cheddar works best for me, Urmi. And yeah, the hummus dip sounds awesome, must try it too!!

  7. Ahh I luv it with less cheese and more chillies and onions and coriander. Su likes it with more cheese. Drooling over them Pal. Sigh! Come to Hyd . me wants Kaju Katli and Parathas and all that u make 😉
    Bring on the cheese, Swar!!!! I’d love to come to Hyd, or u come here 😉

  8. Cool parathas! I make it for my baby for his school tiffin! Simple and easy and ready in a jiffy! 🙂
    Yeah, Shilpa, Its so easy no? But I haven’t tried it once it has cooled. Does it get hard or rubbery or does it last until noon? Asking, cos I would like to pack this for my kid’s lunch too, next week!

  9. Ok first of all I dont know how to make that dough.. so when alone i use the frozen thingy 🙂

    but a good idea maybe try it

    hey i wantted to ask whats happening to that meet, its no more on the site .. 🙂

    Bikram

    1. hey gate crash that idiots house and raid his fredge 🙂 you know who i mean he he he he he … but on second thoughts be careful he may be watching he hehe

  10. Lol! Dough made in normal way. Abt the meet, I edited the time from 4 pm to 11 am (as you said evening was not suitable) and now it has gone into moderation status. I’ll follow up with them.

    1. thats a bit weird of them.. yeah .. so we are still on for it .. goood goood … and 11 am is fine spend the afternoon …
      then come home in evening .. that gives me a idea i might just come by train save on driving tooo yipeeeeeeeeeeeee 🙂 and as such train journey is free for me more yipeeeeeeeeeee 🙂

  11. Yum! I love cheese in all forms 🙂 And so does Poohi 🙂 I make these with paneer, as well.

    For us, I add chillies, onions, methi, chat masala, while I leave it simple for Poohi – just cheese/paneer and methi 🙂 Feel like making them now!or rather eating them now, esp if I could get someone else to make it 🙂

  12. Sigh.. this reminds me of the lip smacking cheese parathas my mom would make for me. As much as I am drooling over this, I still can’t make it on my own. Rolling dough, let alone making parathas(especially with a filling) is just not meant for me. I discover new ways to go wrong every time 😦

  13. did anyone notice so far that all recipes posted by pallu are either in a jiffy or a faster shorter and quicker way to cook !!!!! 😛 😛

    Arre Hitchy bhai, that is the whole idea!!!! I told you, cooking is a total waste of time, so make it short and sweet … er.. tasty 😉 and spend your life on things more worthwhile 😉

  14. Yummmm, I love cheese parathas, pals and now after drooling over your pics I’m tempted to make some. That settles my dinner menu..thankee 😀 😀
    🙂 🙂 🙂

  15. I make this pretty often. one more tip. chop onions, mix chatni n cheese to it and then roll. it wil turn out tastier. add chat massala if u get it there 🙂
    Drooolicious 🙂

So, what do you think?

