Categories
Poem

Lie, sound, colour, number, etc. [a light exercise] from Caferati


I came across this delightful writing exercise on Caferati, on the Ryze network. Pushpee has written a lovely poem  on her blog here and it was so interesting that I took it up too.

These are the guidelines:

Lie, sound, colour, number, etc. [a light exercise]

Line 1 – Write down something that happened this morning. But make it an out and out downright lie.
Line 2 – In the spirit of 1 – write a sentence with a sound in it.
Line 3 – Write a sentence with a colour in it.
Line 4 – Write a sentence with a number in it.
Line 5 – Write a sentence with a character from a book in it
Line 6 – Write a sentence with an animal in it.
Line 7 – Write a sentence with an emotion in it.
Line 8 – Write a sentence to do with the past, present or future.

You might want to go away, write it, cut and paste it. But write it quickly! Go for the first things that come into your head. But by all means do a little work on the finished result. The result may not be great poetry – but hey, it should be fun.

And this is what came out of it:

Just after his favourite breakfast, I killed him
Silence – is that the sound of the ‘seven-year itch’?!!
White walls splashed with red
Two bullets, the first had missed
He looked like the Ghost
And I, like a little rabbit, trapped
Afraid of what I had done
Unsure – of how I would use my new found freedom!!

 

Go on, all you budding writers and poets… give this exercise a shot!!

Hope your weekend is going on well 🙂

x

44 replies on “Lie, sound, colour, number, etc. [a light exercise] from Caferati”

@ Scorpia – Thank you 🙂 Do try!!

@ Ritu – Thanks VERY much 🙂 Need some suggestion on the second line though… Can I replace this: ‘Silence – is that the sound of the ‘seven-year itch’?!!’ with this: ‘Pop .. Pop ..’ – is that the sound of the ‘seven-year itch’?!!

wah wah! me likes your poem too much 🙂 and me will try this one 😉 Hope your husband is not reading it 😉

@ Debs: Thankiyou 🙂 Btw, hubby doesn’t read my blog, which works pretty well for me. As it is, I have my Dad on Facebook now, so I have to be careful. If I had hubby reading everything I wrote.. gosh.. LOL!!!

You killed your husband just after he had his breakfast ??? and you made it into a poem ? and finally gave it this kind of publicity ???? IHM, you arent reading this ????

what actually happened? did your hubby complain about the breakfast you cooked that morning? 😀 😀 😀

Silly boy!! That was only fiction!! Any self-respecting woman will not bother to cook breakfast if she plans to kill the guy, don’t you think??

Of course I know its fiction !! 😀 😀

“Any self-respecting woman will not bother to cook breakfast if she plans to kill the guy, don’t you think??” — I donno; I havent been the scape goat yet ! 😀 😀 😀

@ Tixaty: Thank u 🙂 Do let me know when you have tried it.

@ Nive: He he, evil really? Have you heard of ‘7 year itch’?

@ Pushpee: Eerily yes!! The last week, I’ve been repeatedly haunted by film/news/even FB status about Hitler and Co.!!

Lovely shot at it.. have a feeling i’ve done this on Caferati, dont remember… anyways, will give it a shot… been looking for inspiration for a post… thanks 😀

Infact Aaroo, I was checking the CAf board after ages, and found this because Pushpa had written a post. And it was just so simple and intriguing, that I did it in about 2 mins flat 🙂 Send me your link when you’ve finished please 🙂

* Bikram: Thank you SO much. Do let me know when you’ve tried it out too!

* Shail: Coming from a real poet like you, that means a lot to me 🙂 Thanks !!

* Deeps: Thank you dahling 🙂 Friends like you are what keep me going 🙂

* PB: Thanks a ton, please do try it out , and let me know what came of it 🙂

* Dreamer: Thanks SO much!! So happy to see you back in action 🙂 Now don’t disappear again!

So, what do you think?