A song – grab some tissues please!


This is one song you simply CANNOT watch without crying your heart out!!

‘Maa’ from ‘Taare Zameen Par’ is one of the BEST songs ever, and this movie itself is a GEM!! Kudos to Aamir for making this. Who said Bollywood is about sex and violence only?! One cannot sing this without a quiver in his/her voice. One cannot even listen to the entire song without the eyes getting filled πŸ™‚

Heard this a thousand times, but this song NEVER EVER fails to wrench my heart.

I feel so sorry for mother who has to send her child away to a boarding school. I was never a mushy-mushy person, children would never run to me, and I had no clue as to how to cuddle / pamper little babies/toddlers. But after my Brat arrived, it has quite changed. I am still very ‘touch-me-not’ but my Life lives outside me now πŸ™‚ So for a mother, having to separate from her child is really the most challenging thing ever!

I feel worse for that innocent and vulnerable little boy who is sent away from his family. I can imagine the insecurity and sorrow of the child, who must think ‘he is to blame’ or ‘there’s a problem with HIM’ when in reality it is the family who is not able to help him enough while keeping him with them! Lucky, that this child lived in Bollywood. Where there IS a happy ending. God help all those kids who live in the REAL world.

I am glad my parents never had thoughts of sending me to a boarding school. All the same, I am equally grateful they allowed me to fly away to hostel when I was old enough.

So for everything they have done, and not done… here’s to my wonderful parents πŸ™‚

(And to my younger Sis too, as she will kill me if she doesn’t see her name here πŸ˜‰ )

Btw, I also like this video, where real life mums and children get emotional after hearing the song. And I have to say Aditya looks darn cute with those glasses πŸ˜‰

And if any of you is feeling senti or sad after watching the above videos, then take a look at this and perk up πŸ™‚

Cheers..

34 thoughts on “A song – grab some tissues please!

    1. Oh u r so rt about this film and the song. Even for ppl who don’t watch many films, we both watch this so many times and it touches ur heart every single time πŸ™‚

      LOL @ for younger sister too πŸ˜‰ I cn so relate to that πŸ˜›

  1. I know…a lovely movie and a beautiful song, which will surely leave us crying !!!

    You know the easiest way to listen to this song for me – go to suranga’s blog !!! Thats the first song there…I read till I listen to that song….

    Sending to hostel for an unresolved issue or with a problem is never going to help – both the child and the parents. But, flying away happily to the college hostel, is certainly fun !!!

    Is there any occasion to dedicate this song to ur parents today ????

    1. @ Nive: LOL! So cute! Infact just this morning, I showed the song to Brat and said if he does naughty stuff he will also be packed off to boarding school πŸ˜‰

      @ Masood: If you did burst out crying, I’m sure nobody would have noticed amidst their own tears πŸ˜‰

  2. Totally!
    Saw this movie…and totally hted tht “mother” and “father” in the movie. πŸ˜€
    Aamir sent across a brilliant msg through this one!

    1. Yeah, I guess one would automatically hate the parents, but to think that parents are also only human , makes a difference πŸ™‚ Now having said that, I really do not appreciate parents who send off their kids to boarding school at a young age, because they don’t have the time for them!! Reasons like better social conditions/better education/etc are acceptable, but all said and done, there is no place like home πŸ™‚ no matter how humble or inadequate it is!!

  3. U know when I watched TZP I was confronted with the question how such a gem could be created in mainstream bollywood…. truly Aamir Khan did deserve a lot more recognition for the movie…. I think this movie will me remembered as a classic many years down the line ….

  4. You are right about keeping some tissues ready. One cannot watch this song without them. I simply cannot understand how any parents can put their children in hostel at such a young age for whatever reason. Of course there are genuine reasons sometimes. Like when I was in hostel there was this little girl of 3 who used to cry so much. (I was in 10th). She was alright during daytime. But at sleep time she would start crying. Poor thing, I felt so sorry for her, still do whenever I remember her. But then both her parents were working for a Circus. They did not have an option. But soon she adjusted and was a such a chirpy little thing. πŸ™‚
    When L & M told me he wanted to send the elder one to Sainik school, I was heart broken. But he changed his mind soon. When children are ready to leave home on their own its okay. But not when they are smaller… That’s what I feel. I myself have been in hostels from 14 years onwards and that I feel is okay.

    1. Oh the poor child.. having to live alone at the age of 3… I feel awful!!! But yes, in her case, her parents probably did the right thing by providing her a secure life rather than a transitory one (is that the right word?!)

  5. I use to love that song..no questions asked..and then I had Buzz.. That song took a whole different meaning after that..

    How does a song do that to you..I am not sure..but it does.. πŸ™‚

    1. Seriously.. how can a song stir such deep emotions in people… music is divine indeed! πŸ™‚ And ditto, the song means just SO much once we have children of our own!

  6. Oh, I weeped like a baby at the theatre watching the movie. Amazing movie and an amazing song !

    Btw, who said bollywood is all sex and violence ? I disagree with anyone who thinks like that even. There are so many good movies made in the industry; and then again, every industry has its own flaws ! πŸ˜€

    1. He he, you did weep? Awesome! I like that πŸ˜‰ Ofcourse Bollywood is all about S&V. You can literally count the number of non-violent movies, or movies that have no sexual innuendos!! There are good movies, no doubts, but they are just so rare!!

      1. Nope. I disagree. You have been watching the wrong movies then ! πŸ˜€ πŸ˜€ πŸ˜€

        Ha!! So now you write a post on the ‘good’ movies in Bollywood, without a single scene of sex or violence! :mrgreen: :mrgreen:

  7. I love this movie very much… every scene of it… πŸ™‚ this was one moving song.. even though I watched it with subtitles…

    I watched this movie 2 times and both the times I cried…

    πŸ™‚ I am yet to find someone who did not cry for this movie πŸ™‚

  8. My sonny boy still gets teary eyed every time he hears this one. My hubby who never cries while watching movies, wept like a baby during TZP. It’s a pity other filmmakers did not take any cues from this movie.

    With you on that, Dreamer!! I love this movie.. one can feel the pain of the child, the teacher who realises the parents have not understood the boy’s condition, and also of the parents who reailse their mistake. I love the scene where the child’s FATHER visits Aamir at school, and he watches as his son reads something from a board, but walks away choked with emotion 😦

  9. I bet there was no person in the entire theatre who had not cried while watching this movie..I always stayed with parents till I finished my post graduation( lucky me ). But feel bad for the toddlers who has to go away for studies…

    Yes, shree, kids who have to be separated at a young age are really so pitiable… And lucky you, enjoying Mummy’s cooking and Daddy’s pampering until you finished PG. You know, we don’t realise how all these little things are in reality, a LUXURY πŸ™‚ We only realise this after marriage and setting up a new home 😦 πŸ™‚

  10. I have watched this movie 3 times and every time I have cried buckets… even cry everytime I hear the song alone…this one and the other one too the tittle song

    Oh yeah, the title song is awesome too!

  11. the song is beautiful.. but hey i have been a boarder , and I loved it .. I guess it depends on the situation , It did make me NOT so close to my parents But i loved my boarding days.
    The movie is equally very good …
    One of the hindi movies i liked …

    Aww… you were a boarder and loved it? Guess its Ok if the child is sent away happily and ‘not as a result of some inadequacy’ πŸ™‚

  12. Sigh I wrote a long comment and it disappeared…

    Here i go again..

    Even I choke with emotions when I hear this song…. I am unable to sing this song… as it fills me with emotion… another such song is Mumma from Dasvidaniya.. and Lukka Chuppi from Rang de Basanti… maybe I should do a post on such songs… !!! aaaah… “idea” !!

    Its amazing, Hitchy, how despite each person being so unique and different, our entire nation loves this particular song.. just shows that basic human emotion is the same across people! Btw, I have not heard ‘Mumma’ song, will check Youtube today. And you managed to rake an idea out of this?!! Waah!

  13. I loved the movie…but yes, the kid…kids always know everything and blame themselves if there one else…

    Roger that Vichu! Poor kids, who have to believe they are ‘not good enough’ to be kept with parents. Its infact, the parents who are not capable enough!!

  14. TZP is one of my most favourite movies of all times, so much so that I bought the full DVD pack with the paintings and all… I also wanted my mom to see it coz. she seldom goes to the movies so I ordered a DVD online to reach her in India…

    And this song is just so difficult to watch. Thankfully, my mom is here these days πŸ™‚

  15. I know what you mean by, “…but my Life lives outside me now” I say this to my kids to remind them to call me when they reach or leave from anywhere away from home.

    Loved that movie – Indians need such movies to understand the need to start respecting the feelings of children… cried buckets too.

So, what do you think?

