Five tips for effective social media strategy


I spent much of Christmas tweeting and re-tweeting posts on micro-blogging platform Twitter in the hopes of winning a Sony Tablet or iPhone (none of which came my way, in any case!) But yes, the use of social media was extraordinary!! What was more interesting was the fact that retailers did not ‘PUSH’ their products by ‘Selling’. To the contrary, they ‘PULLED’ a huge audience by ‘NOT selling’ but ‘engaging‘ the vibrant online buyer community!! Apparently, research has also proved that products recommended by friends/acquaintances on social networks fare better than those that aren’t!

Social Media platforms

There is no denying it. Social media is here to stay. So all you lovely entrepreneurs and independent retailers, please do consider these points in your strategy:

Don’t just sell!

1) Back to basics – Integrate your social media channels to speak in one voice. It should brandish your USP (unique selling proposition) that can be as simple as ‘hand-made jewellery’ or as exotic as ‘Himalayan rocks’!

 

2) ‘Engage’ and ‘brainstorm’– As a customer myself, I would be annoyed if a retailer used social media to ONLY Sell. Simple community engagement initiatives like seeking feedback/opinion using Polls and posting pictures of not just celebrities but even the common man endorsing their brand make you endearing!

‘Brainstorm’ with your audience – they are a storehouse of ideas! For example, hold a Twitter contest to solicit brand TAGLINES, thereby ‘engaging’ customers with more than a mundane sales pitch.

3) ‘Extra’s  – Can you use social media to offer that ‘little something extra’? For eg., a Facebook offer of 20% discount or ‘Cash on Delivery‘ could be a deal breaker.

4) Financial and non-financial targets – Let’s face it. You are not running a charity. Ensure to set targets, eg, 500 new Twitter followers.

5) Don’t stop –Most retailers/small scale entrepreneurs do not have the bandwidth to persist with social media initiatives. But do keep the buzz going. Cross-posting a Blog post a week could do the trick.

Social Media strategy is not to ‘sell’ but to ‘Engage’. Speak the voice of the customer, and they will look after you!

15 thoughts on “Five tips for effective social media strategy

  1. Super post! I agree with all your points, especially the bit about engaging customers. Nothing is more irritating than a firm shouting “BUY!” in your ears.
    Lol, thank you so much Debs. How have you been?

  2. I agree, social media is here to stay and is a great medium for advertising as well as for market research for buyers.
    Contests on twitter can be pretty exciting and yes, if a brand can engage me they will surely win a loyal customer in me 😀
    Thanks so much My Era! And I agree with you on the brand engaging a potential customer!!

  3. :).. they are doing there best to sell 🙂
    Lol, yes you do see through them , don’t you Bikki? But what is new now is the approach to selling. It is more of ‘pull’ rather than ‘push’ 🙂 
    I never win anything so I have stopped participating now
    Sigh! The story of my life!!

  4. I really liked this post. Very informative and comes at a time, when I am seeking that gentle nudge. I am definitely going to re-visit this page several times today!
    Hey thank you SO much for that Bins

  5. Hey, any ideas about how I can go about changing that angry face that appears beside my name? 😀
    LOL, I will try changing the settings for Avatar 🙂

  6. Abt the SRK autograph… yeah it makes me real happy. 😀 Don’t worry abt responding to comments. Only if I ask a question do I normally check back to see if there has been a response. So Chill….
    Phew.. thanks 🙂

  7. A very insightful post 🙂 and yes I agree with you, Social media is a source with a huge potential!!
    Thank you Smita, I was hoping people wouldn’t find this boring 🙂

  8. And I am hooked to discovering and buying from such folks 🙂
    Err u starting anything btw? 😉
    He he, I know Swar, I’ve read about all your escapades on Fb 🙂 And Nooooo, I am definitely not starting anything 🙂 thank you!

  9. I was gonna ask the same question as Uma now!! 😉
    good advice.
    I have a twitter account, but I dont tweet or use it… 😦 cant remember the pwd as well!

So, what do you think?

