Monday’s child in 2012


Image courtesy: http://www.littlefolkspuzzle.com/

Well, many of you would have heard of the Monday’s Child poem/rhyme before. For those who haven’t, here it is:

Mondays child is fair of face,
Tuesdays child is full of grace,
Wednesdays child is full of woe,
Thursdays child has far to go,
Fridays child is loving and giving,
Saturdays child works hard for his living,
And the child that is born on the Sabbath day
Is bonny and blithe, and good and gay.

Now I have to admit that my sibling and I actually believed that rhyme to be true, and would often use itΒ to tease each other. It took us many years to realise those were not ‘predictions’ but only a rhyme!!

My Little Prince has learnt a new version at school this week. I have been asking him to repeat it for me all weekend. BecauseΒ I LOVED it.

Read this, and you will most probably agree:

Monday’s child is red and spotty,
Tuesday’s child won’t use the potty.
Wednesday’s child won’t go to bed,
Thursday’s child will not be fed!
Friday’s child breaks all his toys,
saturday’s child make an awful noise.
And the child which was born on the seventh day…
Was a pain in the neck
Like the rest Okay?
I’m pretty sure this was written by a harried mom!
You can’t not empathise with her now, can you?
(PS: God bless all children, they are truly precious, no matter how annoying they can be at times :-))
14 thoughts on “Monday’s child in 2012

  1. hehe that is cute πŸ˜› πŸ˜›
    I don’t like the wednesday thingy in the first poem anyway. Why would they teach any kids that way na? πŸ˜‰ Anyway I used to be happy telling people that I was full of grace πŸ˜‰

  2. The last word of the first poem is alarming in modern times. πŸ˜›
    LOL πŸ™‚ Yes, these days we have a very restricted vocab πŸ˜‰

  3. I hadnt heard of the earlier one till I saw it in R’s rhyme book this year..its a weird poem na..
    Yeah, kind of baseless πŸ™‚ I wonder what was going on in the mind of the original author πŸ™‚Β 
    LOL on the second version
    πŸ™‚

  4. The second version is a lovely twist to the original one πŸ™‚
    I know, I love it too, and keep asking my little prince to repeat it πŸ™‚ What surprised me, in a good way, was that this was taught by the class teacher herself πŸ™‚ Ha ha.

So, what do you think?

