Everyone needs a grandparent!


There’s no questioning it. Everyone needs a bit of pampering. A little love, much adoration 🙂 and even some unquestioned ‘authority’ that leads them to believe ‘they are the boss’. Who better for this role, than a grandparent?

We live miles (and miles!) away from home, but do head back once or twice a year. The bond between child and grandparent is simply beautiful. It does not matter that they have a 60-year-gap between them. It also doesn’t matter that they don’t always understand each other’s accent! Neither does it makes a difference whether they are communicating with each other or simply sitting in amiable silence, watching some crappy TV program.

Kids who receive absolute adoration from the grandparents are ‘blessed’ if you ask me! I think the admiration builds much confidence in them, and it lasts a lifetime. I remember reading these lines somewhere, sometime (but even Google isn’t able to retrieve it for me!): ‘if you have a heard a river in your childhood, it is likely that you will hear it all your life’. That’s the way it is when one is blessed with loving grandparents. I have had the fortune of having one adoring grandmum 🙂 Just thinking of her makes warms the cockles of my heart. Senility will catch up one day,and perhaps turn her into a nit-picking and grumpy lady 🙂 (I’m nearly there myself ;-)) but nevertheless, my love for her is just as unconditional as hers for me 🙂

Why is it that kids are relatively de-stressed with the grandparents around, as compared to the parents? Do we push them too much? Do we want them to be ‘perfect’ (despite not managing it ourselves?!) Or do we use their behaviour as a benchmark of our success as a parent?! Whatever be the reason, in general grandparents seem to share a better rapport with kids than do the parents. Their relationship is quite stress-free, with not much expectation or conditions from either side!

Let me also confess that I am a little envious of people who can leave the kids at the grandparents’ every now and then! Bringing up a child is quite a challenge. I would go so far as to say managing a career is easier than bringing up a child. Yes, every job is difficult, but the task of looking after a child beats them hands down! So if we have grandparents to sneak in and take the pressure off, that, is sheer heaven 🙂

Now that’s another fact that grandparents don’t always want to ‘look after’ the kids as their previous generations did! They enjoy doing this ‘part time’ 😉 but not as a full-time job, and I think they are right! Afterall, they have lived their entire life working really hard to bring us up and provide everything we needed! It ain’t quite fair to expect them to become full-time baby-sitters at this age. I wish more people realised it!! Having grandparents is a luxury that not many can afford!! So the ones that do, add this to your blessings 🙂 🙂

So here’s to all grandparents. No matter how loving/bitchy they are, or how generous/stingy they choose to be. And certainly, irrespective of whether they ‘look after’ our kids or ‘not’. Just ‘being there’ and ‘supporting our children’ is a blessing 🙂 whether we accept it or not.

Rant Warning:

On a related note, I find it annoying when people say going to India once or twice a year ‘is very lucky’.

Honestly, it is a choice! One chooses to either save money, buy property/jewellery/gadgets/etc and go on exotic holidays around the globe! Or one chooses to save every penny and travel 5000 miles to indulge one’s self in the familiar sights, sounds (read, cacophony!) and smells (er, anyone heard of Onyx?) of the home town. Now that calls for another post altogether!!

So all those lovely folks who say this to me again .. er.. please, please don’t!! Danke 🙂

13 thoughts on “Everyone needs a grandparent!

  1. ok I wont 🙂 got the hint..

    but yes blessed are the ones who have had a chance to live with grandparents and get all their love and care , I am blessed one I always say .. being the only male member of my generation in the family I had extra pleasure and love ..

    even today when i talk to them the whole week goes beautifullly

  2. I am fortunate that my in laws are staying with me to take care of their grandson. And when I say grandson it is because that is the relationship that has made them leave the only city that they have ever lived in. And trust me it is only I who knows what a boon this is because with them around I am tension free at work. And what all they teach him. Things like touching feet of elders, pooja and some other small small stuff which I am sure I wouldn’t think about. Guess my son is having the best of both the worlds by getting tol earn from both the generations.

    And I totally agree with you, making a career is easier than brining up kids. There are days when I feel I am not well and I need rest but still go to office not because I am dedicated employe but because I know I will get more rest here than at home 😉

    Lovely post re!

  3. Sigh!! what you say is right!!
    the only grandparent I had was my dad’s uncle and he pampered me like crazy!! he was the best grandpa a body can have! I still miss him and still think of what his reactions would be to my adventures!!

    my parents’ folks – bleh! my mom’s dad was pretty nice, but the other 3 – no use! 😛

    and no, I won’t mention how “lucky” you are!! I’ll just say you are blessed! 🙂
    hugs!

  4. Having lived with the beauty of a wonderful grandparent-grandchild relationship, I totally understand where that comes from! 🙂

    Parents are stricter on the child, since they are responsible for the child’s upbringing. Grandparents are already done with rearing one generation, so they rest easy after that 🙂 And they are wiser with the experiences they have from that.

  5. We are really lucky to be living with my parents… I have lived 3 years without them and now live with them and I can see the difference… not only is it easier to bring up the child but they just simply have a way with the lil one… We almost now dont have to coax hriday to do anything… if he goes out and plays extra hours he will immediately come in and sit and finish his school work or his food 🙂

    His Dadi has taught him to finish all his work the same day and not leave it for another day… adjust the times but finish it all the same ! its so much easy… whenever you want to go out the kid actually needs pulling to come with you .. !!!! YES !! actually my son almost never wants to leave his grand parents and if they are not coming out with us… he is like I will stay home you two go… especially to restaurants or movies… ! only if we are touring does he want to accompnay !

    I agree they are blessed who grow up with grandparents ! 🙂

  6. Its really funny how everyone has different experiences with their grand parents…in my case, neither set lived with us permanently but it was fun when the grandmoms came..as we grew older, especially I started questioning their views, partiality towards my bro, etc…but all said and done, they did leave some kind of mark on me 🙂

    loved this post…for being neutral and not judgemental 🙂

  7. Grandparents share a special bond! My grandfather gives me unconditional love and he was my first teacher. I still remember how he held my hand and made me write on a slate :). Another thing I remember about the grandparents is the bed time stories. My knowledge about mythology always took people by surprise when I was a kid 🙂 (Do I sound pompous???)

    As for the rant, I think it definitely is a choice!

  8. Agree with every bit of what you said! I have lived a major chunk of my life with my grandparents, so I totally get what you mean. They moments spent with them have gone a long way in defining me as a person. And today when I watch Namnam bonding hers and learning and imbibing frm them at whatever given opportunities, I cant tell you how much it warms my heart 🙂

    They truly are a blessing.
    A beautiful post which struck a chord as always 🙂

  9. Sadly I never had the good fortune of interacting with my grandparents. 😦 But from the stories I am hearing from the parents aka my colleagues, some grandparents can be quite the opposite with their grandkids.

So, what do you think?

