Flaunt that bump!


A couple of decades ago, it was really easy to find out if a woman was a ‘mum-to-be’ or not. In my totally humble (and utterly baseless and subjective) opinion, pregnant women would often be the ones wearing an oversized salwar-kameez or simple sari, very modestly trying to hide their baby-bumps!

But not so any more. Today, the Bump is something of a celebration πŸ™‚ We eagerly look forward to seeing that precious, adorable baby-bump that loudly calls for ‘Partayyy!!’

Now one regret that I have always had is that the poor mum-to-be often gets left behind in the hullabaloo about the baby-to-be!! And ofcourse, the woeful lack of smart ethnic maternity wear. And I am not referring to the good old versatile ‘sari’ here πŸ™„

There is an awesome range of stylish maternity wear when it comes to western outfits – like fantastic maternity jeans, maternity tops, etc. etc. But as far as Indian clothes are concerned… I don’t recall having seen any ‘maternity salwar-kameez’ πŸ˜†

Very recently, the lovely folks atΒ Morph MaternityΒ got in touch with me regarding their maternity wear. And trust me, I truly regretted visiting their website. Looking at all those gorgeous clothes, I felt awful that I did not have access to such a delightful collection of clothes when I needed them a few years ago!!! While I loved their chic kurtis/kurtas, some of the dresses (Sigh, I’ll never get into them!) looked so stylish!

While pregnancy itself is a blessing, I think chic maternity clothes make the mum-to-be feel confident and happy. And happy mums make happy babies!!!! I wish I had known about this brand earlier. A chunk of my wardrobe would have been from there!!

Google also reveals that the brain behind this concept is a woman entrepreneurΒ Deepa Kumar. Thumbs up, lady!

My only quibble might be the sizing information on the website. The size chart is quite clear, however there isn’t a comparison with UK/EU measurements. Which I suppose is OK considering this is an Indian brand, but greedy folks like me, who want to order clothes from abroad might find it a little confusing.

I also wonder if they have an option of buying Gift Vouchers online like they do on sites such as Flipkart.

Anyway, better late than never. What am I going to do with all that post-pregnancy weight afterall !!! Kurtas.. kurtis.. here I come πŸ™‚


(Psst: They offer free delivery too ;-))

Edited to add:

I ordered a couple of Kurtis from Morph Maternity’s website (in consideration for the above post), and this is my honest feedback:

Pros:

1) Fabric and colours were OK

2) Cleverly placed zips to facilitate feeding (the zips are quite inconspicuous)

3) Prompt delivery

Cons:

1) The clothes were rather over-sized. I suppose this is because they are ‘maternity wear’ but it somehow took some of the chicness away. I forget if I ordered L or XL, but what I received was certainly bordering on XXL or XXXL!

2) One definitely needs to physically try out the garments before buying!

3) Returns are not allowed, only exchange for another size

29 thoughts on “Flaunt that bump!

  1. That sounds wonderful! I will let my friends in India know! I know friends who got clothes from abroad when they were pregnant because of the lack of options in India at that time. I made the most of my pregnancy and flaunted my bump here πŸ™‚
    LOL, I tried hiding the bump as I was working then! And when I reached India, all I found was dull, baggy salwar-kameezes that I absolutely detested!!!!

  2. hahaha I agree to Ritu-ji on that….for people like me who are STILL flaunting the baby bump AFTER 3 years of delivery, I sure need to visit πŸ™‚
    LOL, and me..after 5 years πŸ™‚

  3. I think for those of us, whose bump has sort of become permanent, this may be a flattering alternative to resizing, oversizing, and generally feeling miserable :D!
    LOL! But Usha, you are one of the last people who I think would have a bump!!
    Very informative! And will book mark this post, for the DIL s who might need it, a couple of years or so down the line :P!
    Ha ha, yes please do πŸ™‚

  4. Oh man Where were these clothes when I needed them…i uses to look like a tent wearing those huge salwar kameezes…..but i keep contracting and expanding at a much higher frequency than railway tracks so for those bloated days/months…. yay
    LOL @ the ‘tent’ comment.. pretty much like me then πŸ™‚ You have a lovely sense of humour Soma!

  5. Ahem! Does that say something to us πŸ™‚ Have you started your shopping yet πŸ˜‰
    Aiyooo Rama!!! Not at all Vaish πŸ™‚
    I’ve seen this website just a few months back when another blog friend of mine shared it in her blog! It’s actually very nice to see women in such chic clothes even during the extra size days! Kinda gives a lot of confidence and makes you just be yourself, instead of wearing those oversized kurtas and salwars!
    Certainly is nice Vaish, when we see women celebrating the bump πŸ™‚ I too hated those oversized kurtas…

  6. I have recently ordered some of the awesome looking clothes from this web-store, eagerly waiting for the parcel πŸ˜€ πŸ˜€
    Oh really? Wow!! Do let me know how it is, esp. the sizing, as I am planning to order too, but am a little worried if they are going to fit me πŸ™‚

  7. I have to write to them to stitch XS size πŸ˜›
    Grr… I am Jealous Bhavia!!!! Btw, thank you for dropping by, and I shall hop over to your blog soonest!

  8. You know, I feel the same when I see the range of maternity wear available now. I used to dress like a frumpy dowager in my bump-exhibiting days 😦
    Β LOL, me too, B. Though I find it hard to believe you EVER dressed in (or looked) anything less than gorgeous πŸ™‚
    How lovely it would have been to show off the bump with some style and grace!
    Sigh! I wish I had known a couple of years earlier too.

  9. People actually think about how they look when they are pregnant? I was busy throwing up !
    LOL, don’t remind me of the morning sickness LG, I have thrown up into almost every bin in London πŸ˜‰

  10. Pallo – a blog post related to maternity? Congratz !! πŸ˜‰ πŸ˜€ πŸ˜‰ πŸ˜›
    Arrgghhh… tomorrow I shall write a blog post about winning a million dollar lottery πŸ˜‰

  11. I guess these clothes are also useful for any woman who finds them comfortable πŸ™‚
    Yep, except that you can’t wear the horizontal nursing tops unless you know…ahem.. πŸ˜‰
    And I like the idea of women not caring to hide something as natural as a pregnancy bump.
    Absolutely IHM. I love it too, that we can flaunt that bump and be happy about it, rather than be embarrassed!!

  12. Ohhh those store guys must be thankful to you..you are making them famous through blog world πŸ˜€ looks really intesting
    LOL, blogs are an advertising medium too Shree πŸ™‚

  13. such a lovely statement this And happy mums make happy babies!!!!
    πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚
    hahah thank god for I read the entire post else I was about to congratulate you for the big news that I thought you’re breaking through this post πŸ˜‰
    *Thanks heavens!!!*
    lol
    Thanks scribbly, seeing you after a long time πŸ™‚

So, what do you think?

