Five easy steps to get a headache


Five easy steps to get a headache   

Simply talk to an acquaintance that fits the description below:

1)      Is extremely talkative – talks like he/she is an express train, or like he/she is suffering from diarrhoea and is rushing to find a toilet! Someone who talks without waiting to hear a reply, or on hearing a reply, pounces on that, and asks more questions than what Kasab has been asked!

2)      Is very loud – His/her normal voice is like a loudspeaker, so loud that you can hide your phone under the sofa and still hear the person loud and clear.

3)      Forces you to baby-talk with his/her Toddler – With absolutely no warning, right in the middle of a conversation, the acquaintance puts her toddler on the phone to talk to you. So one second you are listening to the express train. The next, you are supposed to be enjoying the babble of a child you don’t know. Honestly, I’m sure that child is an absolutely adorable little angel, but WTH, you are not in the mood for baby-talk!

4)      Is looking for a job – Within 5 minutes of the phone-call, he/she has interrogated you and knows your entire bio-data and that of your spouse’s too. Needless to say, in the following 5 minutes, he/she has asked you for leads, for contacts and for your email Id and your spouse’s email ID too, to float her CV around. And all this, when you hardly know him/her.

5)      Is very very very eager to meet you. Even if you are evidently hard-pressed for time. The person is kind enough to invite himelf/herself to your place, if you don’t have the time to go out to meet him/her.

So there! If you don’t have that head-ache yet, do let me know. I can pass your telephone number on to this latest acquaintance of mine!

41 thoughts on “Five easy steps to get a headache

  1. My ex flat mate was 1 and 2 combined. I always acted like I am sleeping in my room to avoid her. But but but she then came into my room to wake me up and talk to me about her job hunt. 😐
    OMG !Scary female!!!
    I am now made of steel. Nothing can give me a headache except people wanting to know why I am not getting married yet 😀
    He he he, Ohhh CR, you aren’t married yet? Oh no! Why? When? Who? Ha ha ha!!!

  2. do I fall under 1 and 2 ? I am that one who can either talk non stop as if there is no tomorrow or not utter one single word.. It all depends on various factors like the topic/my mood/time of the day etc etc… but but but I do give enough chance to the listeners to run away with a “may be later” promise 🙂 🙂
    LOL!!! THat is actually funny 🙂 Anitha!!! But I’m sure you don’t talk non-stop with strangers, right? Please tell me I’m right 😉

  3. How about you pass my number to your acquaintance and I pass yours to a similarly annoying+irritating+boring+hard to avoid acquaintance of mine. May be we can help a bit each other:-) what say?
    I say that is a BRILLIANT idea…..

  4. Hehe he good job I aint calling u else you wud say talking to bik gave u a aheadache….
    He he, not at all!!
    Ok a few more people who have had a couple to drink and think they know all the law… Ah, the hazards of your work environment!
    Someone who had done something wrong and are trying to talk there way out of it….. This seems to be a universal phenomenon, isn’t it Bikki? Very annoying.

    I can put a few more but. Then dont want to give you a headache reading it allll 🙂
    Ha ha, thank u!
    Take care…

  5. So it’s just one person with all of the above?! Good lord! That must be a nightmare…each thing on its own is bad enough.
    Yes PB, thank u for understanding!!! Seriously each thing is bad enough, and here is a single person we are talking about!

  6. Should be renamed as 5 people to avoid at all costs! 😀
    Ha ha, actually you are right Ash, the title is not accurate for the post.
    Love the new look of your blog…! 🙂
    Aww thank u girl!

  7. Totally Pal…

    Some others are-

    1.people who love to call and brag abt their accomplishments, bla bla Gosh! Luckily, I haven’t come across such specimens yet!
    2.those telemarketers who just wont hang up/go away Ha ha ha!
    3. someone[ might be a friend] who wants to meet so you can do the same mish mash talk all over.. aracha mavu arachings daily…. sigh.. LOL!!! Love the term you used Aaroo!

    Luckily, i dont get headaches, i completely tune out and start distancing myself from/dodging the person….
    That is a skill I really really need to learn now!

  8. Why would anyone wanted to invite a headache! Oh it was totally uninvited, Vaish 😦
    I talk a lot, fast and loud too 😦 But I wouldn’t completely fall under 1 or 2 category!! Thank God 🙂
    I don’t like the drilling/vaccuming or blender noise. That simply annoys me! Ha ha 🙂 Ditto!
    Pal…just try to do the same thing to them, and they would never bother you again! Tried it, Vaish, but it doesn’t work yaar!!!! Very thick hide….

  9. My aunt, she is a combination of 1 and 2. Her presence makes people keep the headache pill handy.. And I’ve noticed that people who are guilty of 1 also have traits of 2..

  10. and now that you’ve told us how to get a head-ache tell us how to get out of it too 😉

    HUGS *I’m sure hugs don’t give any head ache ;)*

  11. Err,….Pals… the-headache-causing-person sounds a bit like me…. am guilty of at least two things here.. will not tell you as you might call-off our meeting:)

  12. Oh no! I fall squarely into category 1. I talk A LOT. And by A LOT I mean A LOT, even though its my constant endeavour to talk less. Sometimes even my husband looks at me wonderingly and says ‘My god! You talk so much’. Sigh!

    I’m just going to have to try talking less, though all attempts so far have been futile!

  13. I thought I left a comment here a few days back, but looks like it vaporized or i forgot to hit ‘post comment’?.. Anywayz… am guilty of at least 2-3 things you’ve mentioned here:)
    LOL! But I’m sure you don’t do that with ‘strangers’ no Vidya?

  14. ROFL, Pals! Oh I might know a few who fit the description above to the T! So no, thank you, keep my phone number to yourself 😀 😀
    Ha ha ha, we should put all these specimens together in one room, lock it up, and lose the key 😉

So, what do you think?

