Friday Fun – Look what I found! Day 12: Project 365


Guess what I found this morning, as I was de-cluttering? This!!!!!

This timeless, gorgeous piece of music by the once-upon-a-time-gorgeous Lucky Ali!! Click this link to listen to the song on Youtube.

I have many lovely memories associated with this song, and with the tape too, so this picture (supposed to be part of my Project 365), warranted a post on its own πŸ™‚

Warning: Long, boring post ahead!

So, this particular song, ‘O Sanam’ is one of my most favourite EVER! It reminds me of freedom, of being carefree and incredibly stupid. But then, such is the beauty of youth, isn’t it? To do whatever you wish to do, without stopping to weigh the consequences!! And to just be exhilarated about nothing!

The first time I heard this song, was when I had joined the mandatory ‘Higher diploma in software engineering’ course at Aptech. Those were times when parents would be mortified if their child was not taking up a ‘campooter course’! And who were touchingly oblivious to the fact that their children who worked overtime stating ‘combined studies’ were busy generating business for the seedy ‘Valentine’s Day flower-vendors’ on the footpath πŸ˜‰

Anyway, in the computer Lab (where ‘flirting‘ = ‘switching off a girl’s computer to piss her off!’ (Sigh!!)), aΒ friend was evidently SHOCKED when the gang was discussing this song ‘O Sanam’ and I had no clue what it was!! So I went back home, got the song recorded at the local store. Yeah yeah, those were the days, when we used to jot down the names of ‘supposedly trendy’ songs and get it recorded at the local video store, because that was just way cheaper than buying an audio cassette!!! (And while the recording used to be pretty decent, we were also blessed with hearing the ‘recorder’s’ flowery language/cusses/etc. during the ‘in-between’ gaps between songs :-)) I digress again! So, I finally heard the song!! And, to a romantic like moi, that was a sheer piece of heaven!!!

Once I moved away from home, to do my MBA, my mum sent me money to buy myself a ‘walkman’. I dragged a friend along every seedy street in Pune, to find a good, but not too expensive walkman. And this is what I bought for an exorbitant Rs.1100 πŸ™‚ It even had a speaker and recorder (AND it still works, after an entire decade!!) We (my roomie, an extra illegal roomie and I – and when I say ‘illegal’ I only mean, this girl, Miss S, was ALWAYS in our room, despite not actually living there, so my landlady used to stare at her, with evident dislike, every time she came home!! And which we conveniently ignored :-)) have listened to many lovely songs on this walkman, and needless to say, O Sanam was one of them!

And the last (please don’t say ‘Phew!’ :-)) memory is that of roaming the streets of Mumbai, at 1 am, in a cab full of friends, that too at the expense of the company for which I worked 😈 I was working on a project, and when my work got over, a bunch of very close friends arrived, we piled into a Taxi, and simply roamed all around Mumbai.

We went up and down the beach, saw the Hiranandani apartments from afar, and gaped, in awe πŸ™‚ I don’t think any of us even dreamed of owning something like that in our lifetime!!! We were ‘just out of B-school’ and we thought the world of ourselves! And yes, since I was ‘working beyond office hours‘, my noble friends ‘suggested’ I bill the cab fare (which was an enormous Rs.430 :lol:) to the organization, and I very sweetly obliged. I hope none of my ex-colleagues are reading this πŸ˜‰ And oh yes, I missed telling you, that throughout the drive in the cab, we listened to this tape.

And O Sanam was etched in our memory forever!!

So there, folks. We finally come to the end of the post. Please, do me a favour. Before you shut the computer on my face πŸ˜‰ do listen to the song. Here:

And, DO SHARE YOUR MEMORIES, with this song, if you would like to πŸ™‚

39 thoughts on “Friday Fun – Look what I found! Day 12: Project 365

    1. LOL hw hw cn I shut down the computer Pal πŸ˜› πŸ˜›

      Am @ work u c πŸ˜‰ Nt that I wud hv done it otherwise πŸ˜‰
      LOL, so you are ‘at work’ hey? Doesn’t look like that to me πŸ˜‰ Though, I have to say I am very happy you can ‘work so hard’ and read my posts πŸ™‚
      Lovely post Pal. I luvv this song too πŸ™‚
      πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚ Infact when I posted the link first on FB, I thought of you only, as we both enjoy many similar songs πŸ™‚
      Waise, did I tell u I met one of ur old colleagues sday πŸ˜›
      Aah? Oooh? Nooo!!! Hey, you’re kidding me πŸ™‚

      1. Pal, y did u go away from my post like that πŸ˜› πŸ˜›
        Ayyo, I suddenly realised I had to feed the brat and drop him at school 😈 so left in a hurry. Will be back soon πŸ™‚

  1. am I first ?
    Now regarding the song and memories … yeah the song has many bitter/sweet memories with it…. golden era of my life would say πŸ™‚ ….
    Please do share, Dhiman! See, I even edited my post to add a quick ‘please share your memories’ πŸ™‚

      1. Yeah saw it when my comment got posted πŸ˜€ … koi baat nahin ….. missed by seconds this time πŸ™‚
        Aww Dhiman, better luck next time!! I’m wondering how Tan missed this πŸ˜†

    1. My fondest memories for this song is when the song started playing around it was admission time for my sister and I was the one running around the girls’ colleges(without being chased away by security guards) for her admission ..a task I enjoyed quiet naturally πŸ˜‰ and often this song would be playing(on the old ‘double-deck’ cassette player) when I would leave for one of the colleges…
      He he he, I can imagine how enthu you must have been doing all that ‘work’ and ‘sacrifice’ for your sis πŸ˜‰

  2. am i 3rd?? :p

    I guess all of us ahve one special song which remains etched in our mind forever all because we have some memories associated with it. Mine one such song was Bumbroo from Mission Kashmir because we had done a group dance on it. πŸ™‚

    Yes Ma’am , you are certainly third!!! Oh you like Bhumroo? Me too! Me too!!! My friends had done a group dance on it πŸ™‚ And now my son loves this song too πŸ™‚

  3. hey pals…does the tape still work…?? ..i mean Lucky ali still obligingly sings the song..at ur click?
    cool post..and was grinning all through when I was reading it..:)..what the innumerable imitations you would have heard of this song..by your dear frens..doesnt that come to your mind..err..i mean ur ears as well..;)
    written it soooooo well!..funny..
    Lavy, the tape still works, can u believe it? I wish we could listen to it ‘together’ once again NOW πŸ™‚

  4. I love this song, Pals! Hadn’t heard this since ages! It is so so romantic! And in the video, it is his wife who starred as his lady love – I found that incredibly romantic too πŸ™‚
    Oh really? I didn’t know that. Now it makes the song even more special!!!!
    What memories you have associated with this song Pals πŸ™‚ I don’t have too many memories associated with this, apart from the fact that I loved the song πŸ™‚
    He he, I’m sure you have other numbers that make your heart go ‘Mmmmm’ πŸ˜‰
    Your walkman still works? Wow! Now you should keep it safe. R might be able to auction it off as an antique piece many years down the line πŸ˜‰
    It actually does, Smitha!! But guess what? I gave it to R this morning, and within 5 mins, he had dropped it on the hard wooden floor :cry:, so yeah, I’m going to keep this in a safe secret place!!!! :mrgreen:

  5. WOWOWOW The good old days .. I remember every saturday there use to be a weekly magazine SUN that use to come which would hold the top 10 songs in USA and Every sat I wud buy that mag (also it had some hot looking girls posters he he he ) .. and go to sector 17 to Bajaj Music house, first floor and a guy there recorded selected songs for you..
    Ahem, hot looking girls, makes sense why you bought that mag!!!
    I was remeberin all those days reading ur post and for some reason my cousin sis was mad about lucky ali .. though for obvious reasons i did not find him that attractive πŸ™‚ he he heh
    He he he, so men don’t find him saxy huh?
    That reminds me i should get my load of cassettes this time when i go to india..
    bikki, what do you do with cassettes? Do u have a player here?

  6. πŸ˜†

    What awesome memories associated with a song! I remember this song thinking – “Why is he singing thru his nose?!!” :mrgreen:
    LOL!!! Guess our hero Himesh Reshamiya wasn’t around then!!
    Yea, I used to get songs recorded at the local recording shop too! I had a book in which My mom, sis and me used to jot down songs to get them recorded!! πŸ˜€ πŸ˜†
    Yay, same pinch πŸ™‚

  7. I like this song too and I remember singing it, covering my face just like lucky Ali’s wife and looking in the mirror wishing hard for blue eyes 😯
    ROFL!!!! Can just imagine you doing that. It is sooo like u πŸ˜‰ Btw, have u ever tried coloured contact lenses? A friend of my sister’s used to switch between emerald green and blue lenses every month?!!! πŸ˜›
    You never cease to surprise me with your posts. Every grey, black, blue and green side of yours stumps me coz somehow I have this sweet and too good to be true image of you in my mind πŸ˜₯
    lOL, U said it yourself, Saks. ‘Too good to be true’ !!!!

  8. HEY!!!!!! I LOVE that song!!! and it reminds of my school days! Like you said, it makes you feel so young and carefree!! πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚
    πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚
    And I had the same walkman (passed on to me by my sister :P) And the songs that I associate with that are the Maachis songs. Used to spend hours listening to the tape πŸ™‚
    Oh wow, that’s wonderful!!!! I remember Maachis too, btw. Good old days πŸ™‚
    Lovely post! πŸ™‚
    thank u so much Annie!
    Cheers,
    Annie.

  9. I don’t have any special memories of ‘O Sanam’ except drooling over Lucky Ali! πŸ™‚ Really enjoyed your post, and your adventures in a taxi.
    Hee hee, drooling over Lucky Ali is a good enough memory, Batul πŸ˜‰ Thank u for your comment. Been a long time, how have you been?

  10. Awesome post Pallavi..! O Sanam was a very famous album! Lucki Ali at his best ,ad I was in Chennai (Vidya Mandir) when I heard of this. and when I asked my friends to hear this song,. they stared so hard at me.. a Hindi song was Taboo in a school full of “paa****s”.. and I have seen this “walkman” in your house. But you still have cassettes???

    LOL, that’s very funny πŸ™‚ Hindi song being taboo πŸ˜† πŸ˜† U’ve seen this antique walkman? Wow!! Yeah, I still have some cassettes, which our Hero tries to dispose off everytime, but I go rummaging through the garbage and stealthily bring the cassettes right back home πŸ™‚

  11. ” To do whatever you wish to do, without stopping to weigh the consequences!! ”
    Baaki sab to theek, I want to know what did you do??? πŸ˜›
    LOL! Only u can come up with that one. Btw, it was all very silly boring stuff, like going for late night coffees and all. And I mean, the cappucino coffee πŸ˜‰

  12. WOW Pallo, I have a lot of cassettes too…. my mom very kindly asked me if I still ‘wanted’ them before she could discard it and I grabbed the ones that have awesome memories attached to them… of me and my sis listening to it together πŸ™‚ Sigh πŸ™‚
    Awww… and do you grab the cassettes before they can be thrown? I do πŸ™‚
    P.S: I used to find ‘O Sanam’ very boring because Lucky had an awful voice at that time and the song was hardly melodious. The lyrics were very romantic of course :):) I really liked ‘Na Tum Jaano Na Hum’ from Kaho Na Pyaar Hai – singing had improved by then!
    Oh really? He he he. Ooooh, I love that song, the Na tum jaano.. I’ve heard it a million times πŸ™‚ and watched the movie a couple of times too πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚ I remember a college friend saying Hritik looked like a Greek God πŸ™‚

    1. Yes I grabbed it instantly. Luckily I have a taperecorder+CD player, so I can still listen to them. Oh and I used to have a walkman too…. it was such a prized possession… it stopped working many eons ago though 😦
      Oh nice, you still have a tape-recorder? We threw ours a couple of years ago 😦
      Hrithik still has a drool-worthy body and super-sexy eyes !! I will admit unashamedly that I only watch his movies to keep ogling !!
      Atta girl, that’s the way πŸ™‚

  13. Ah! Those were the days… I went down nostalgia lane… reading this post.
    I wanna hear more, Rosh!!
    But the once gorgeous Lucky Ali… is in the past. Firmly. My best half saw him at a restaurant the other day… and he is far, very far from eye candy material…
    Oh nooooo 😦 Guess we should watch cine stars only onscreen and not off!

  14. You reminded me of the good ol’ days!
    Wasn’t such a fan of Oh Sanam but there are many such songs that have been etched in my memory. πŸ™‚
    Do share them, Nive!!!!

  15. I love this song too! So much are the memories etched with cassettes and hindi album songs! I wait in the ques at music world in spencer plaza when ARR’s music album is getting released…and have a lot of assorted songs recorded in the cassettes…
    Wow, I remember Spencers plaza too, it was the ‘hip and happening’ place in those days πŸ™‚
    I got my fist sony walkman when i was in 7th standard when my bro gifted it to me…I still have that walkmen at my home πŸ˜€
    LOL @ switching off the systems in computer lab…yes I’ve faced this too! That really pisses us offf!!
    Yay, Anu we have a lot in common πŸ™‚ Did u go to Aptech or Niit?

    1. ha ha…never to Aptech or NIiT! Just during the school computer lab sessions!
      With that torture I had, I decided not to go for any courses πŸ˜€

  16. Lovely, LOVELY post! And this is one of my (still) fav songs!
    Its got a million silly memories attached…and its takes me back to all those far away years every time i listen to it! πŸ™‚
    Come on, Priya, write a post on it and share your memories too, pretty please πŸ™‚

  17. Such a sweet post full of memories…who will shut down the comp huh ??? Just loved the carefree roaming days of college and work. Such days of sheer bliss. πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚

    Me too a HDSE from Aptech….did it at Cathedral road…..Hi 5 to you !!! πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚ One more common thing among the others… πŸ˜‰

    I still hold the cassettes close to my heart….dont have the heart to throw them away, even after switching to CDs and iPods…. πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚

    We used to have the bulky tape recorder at home…and those song recordings….ha ha ha, even I’ve done them all. Such a wonderful journey back time, becos of ur post and I love u for that. πŸ™‚

    Now, am listening to that song….no great memories of the song, but I am liking it. πŸ™‚

  18. I like lucky ali’s voice…. Even I used to get recorded those cassette and i still have some of them though they don’t work any more… May be I have kept them so that someday my grand children can sell them to a museum and mint money out of it πŸ˜€ πŸ˜€

  19. All of Lucky Ali Songs are “sheer peace of heaven” as u said, I grew up listening to his songs and he is one of my favorite singer too, my favorite lucky Ali songs are this one “O sanam” and there is one more song “Jaane Kya Dhoondta he”, this post of yours brought back Old memories to me..! πŸ™‚
    I’ve not heard the other song yet, Aniruddh, let me check if its on Youtube now. Thank you, I’m glad you enjoyed this post. I went to your blog, found it extremely familiar, but just couldn’t remember when or where it was that I’d been there before!

So, what do you think?

