Kaju Katli in a jiffy


This post is for the sweet-lovers 🙂 And this is seriously simple. If I can make it, then ANYBODY can!!

What to keep ready:

– 1 cup cashews

– 1/2 cup sugar

– 1/4 cup water

(That’s it!! Can you believe it?!! :shock:)

How to make this thingy:

– Grind the sugar (10 secs or so, to turn it into a fine powder)

– Boil the water, add the sugar, let it simmer a while (5 mins or under)

– Grind the cashews (ditto), add to the simmering sugar syrup thing

– Let it thicken, no lumps, until the mixture turns dry 🙄 Don’t let it get burnt though.

How to test if its ready: In about 6 – 8 mins or so, if you take out a drop (don’t you DARE touch it by hand, or you won’t forget me or this blog in a long long time!!) of the mixture and leave it outside, it should ideally become hard. That means your mixture is ready.

– Pour it onto butter paper and wait till it cools a little (5-10 mins). Trust me, you don’t want to even touch it at this temperature!! 🙄

– Knead it well into a ball (for about 2 mins) – roll out into a circle (I kneaded it using butter paper, as the mixture was way too hot for me to handle, and I couldn’t wait that long for it to cool 😉 )

– Once fully cooled, cut into diamonds 🙂 That is my favourite part 🙂 I remember my Paati making Beda (Jeera Para) this way. Its very therapeutic, actually!!

FINITO 🙂

End to end, this should take less than half hour or so. Not bad, huh?

78 thoughts on “Kaju Katli in a jiffy

  1. Yeah…its damn simple Pals…knew abt this from my Sil…she makes it so yummy….now, that YOU have told this, I am going to book mark this and make it for the upcoming Navarathri season !!!! 🙂 Header pic super. 🙂

  2. Will email my address. Please send them over, the diamonds and all:) It looks nice, and can imagine how it tastes.. (droool..) I tried this a couple of years back. Just that it ended up being kaju halwa! We licked up the till the last bit:)

        1. Hmm, in retrospect, I think it would have all been done in less than 30 mins if I didn’t have to take all those pics.. and add to that an icky phone at the end of it… 🙄

    1. Thanks, Sandhya. The header is from WordPress only. One of the pictures for this 20-20 theme. And yeah, the recipe does not necessitate ghee. You can add some if you like, though 😉 I intentionally omitted the ghee part.

  3. In my case,
    Attempt 1 – disaster – was kaju powder
    Attempt 2 – as good as store bought!!!
    Attempt 3 – disaster – it turned into a stone(that helped in hitting those who made fun of it :P)
    Attempt 4 – {giving you my besssht smile, trying to take the short route and convince you to just give a few of those beauties to me 😛 :D}

  4. Less than half an hour??? Thats it??? 😯
    Damn! Now I gotta try this when I head to my parents’ place…no mixie/grinder at my place!!! 😀 😛

    Seriously, Ashwathy!!! Try it and let me know.

  5. Am already drooling at it!! This is the only sweet i eat! On given time, I can finish upto 1 kg of them 🙂 🙂
    I simply love the kaju katli of Sree Mithai in Chennai!!
    Now you have to send me parcel!!

    Oh no!! Please don’t expect a Sree Mithai taste from the home-made thingy 🙄 🙂

  6. Damn it’s that easy and they charge half of Bill Gates Salary for a pound of it here??? 😡 Will make it and go feed my Indian Mithai Wala….hmmmpf!! 👿

    It’s my son’s favourite favourite sweet in the entire world 😛 He will be one happy little man if I make this.

    You’re not going to believe this, Saks, but this is my kiddo’s favourite too, and its damn expensive in the sweet shops… so much cheaper to buy a pkt of cashews, and make the stuff whenever you want!!

  7. Wow that does sound easy…on a seperate note though I thought this was going to be one of the funny posts on cooking (like you have done before), and read it all the way through and then read it all over again, till I realised this was a serious receipie post 😛

    1. LOL! Actually Supps, I wanted to add in some funny moments, like the bits where the darn mixture got burnt and had to be scraped off… then decided to keep this a serious post instead, for a change 🙂

    1. Excellent!!! Infact, Priya, I don’t have a sweet tooth at all, but the boys here have a massive sweet tooth, AND Indian sweets are damn expensive here… so making it at home is a better option 😉

  8. This ain’t my favourite sweet, but what a simple recipe! Had not realized, kaju katli was so easy to make. Nice to do it for guests, I think. Won’t take time, and lots of credit points. 🙂

  9. u end the post with a “not bad, huh”… its well beyond “not bad”… its too good !!! i bow to u ya… u can make stuff like this! give me the precise-est recipes and watch me mess them up..especially if they involve sugar cookery!

  10. ha ha ha… when I have seen the title I thought that you will a tip that run to nearest sweet shop and buy it.. 😀 😀

    But you fooled me Pals 😦
    Brilliant idea, Kanagu. Next time 😉

  11. nice… I didnt know it was this easy to make Pallu!
    I’m so scared of making sweets… sigh! Need to step out of the comfort zone of payasams and Jamoon and experiment here as well!

    nice header and theme! me liked! 😀

  12. It is that that that simple !!!!!!!!!!!!!! is that the recipe are you sure ???? !!!!!!!!!!!!!
    99% sure!!! Try it and see no? Sultan Bhai? LOL!!! Good one 🙂

    Dudette…. this is the one sweet I love devouring !!!! My style is to pile up 4 Kaju Katli’s on top of each other and then Gobble in two bites !!!!!!!!! in true Hitchy Style !!!!!!!! :mrgreen: *BURP*
    Wow, and what happens after u devour all that???

  13. Pals, I tried – and I botched it up 😦 I think I measured the amount of water wrong – it has become Kaju halwa instead 😦 *boo hoo* Trust me to botch up a recipe this simple too 😦
    Oh no…. but try again, Smitha, its not too hard, really. Or perhaps, next time, you can add the water in parts. But hey, did the Halwa taste good ? 😉

So, what do you think?

