Laptop worries


The new laptop was hacked during our Chennai visit

The virus does not allow us to run even Task Manager 😦

The old laptop is small, cute and oh so slow!

The old laptop refuses to recognize my new phone, so I cannot transfer any new pictures

Oh, and all our Chennai pictures were CUT and pasted into the new laptop, which now, as you know, is inaccessible!

So, the new laptop has been replaced by the old one. The old has everything, pictures, documents…everything, really. The new one has nothing. Except old stuff.

Sigh! This is sooooo scre*ed!!!

😦

44 thoughts on “Laptop worries

      1. U’re not? Lemme go check! Hey, ofcourse you are 😉
        (The benefits of being quick at Ctrl C and V ;-))
        But, you are in my Reader, Ums, if that helps 😉

        1. Now, I can see…. 😉 😉

          Yes, I do have all the links in the reader. 🙂 Whenever I add them on to my WP page, they stop blogging or take a break…. 😉
          LOL!!!! I added you on as soon as I saw your comment!! And your Blogroll is jinxed?? Please don’t add me then 😉

  1. ufff sometimes I hate techonology… our good old photo prints were better
    oh me too, Mon. I hate needing to trust or depend on technology! Infact recently, I backed up all my sim contacts in a good old paper diary 😉

      1. err the only prob in that is “I would have to develop and frame all my butt shots and hang on my walls” and then what will people who visit my home think about me? *shudder*
        LOL! Infact you can have a Butt Swayamvar. Every guest will have to either pick his/her favourite butt, or identify his/her own butt 😉 😉

  2. have you tried a antivirus.. spybot or things like that.. its a pain when that happens .. i had a harrowing time when i got this virus..

    why do people do such things , spending os much time and wasting so much time of everyone… makes me mad really.. so much lossss if put to good use it can reap so much…

    I hope you are able to recover everything .. try recovery .. or re installing , it may just effect the operating system and leave your personal data untouched …
    Maybe All the best
    Thanks so much, Bikram!! We’re hoping to get some antivirus and repair CD this weekend. Hmmmm… I do hope we get our dear lappy back 🙂 And yeah, agree with you on people using their time for ‘productive’ and ‘constructive’ things rather than the opposite!!

    1. Oh btw, hugs to ur laptop Pal 😀
      Hee hee hee, if only my laptop knew this, he (assuming its a He) would bounce back to Life 😉

  3. I have been through this very recently 😥 , it’s a pain and is very irritating too 😦
    I hope things get better for you soon 😀
    Sigh!! And how did u fix it, Dr.CB?

  4. Oops… so whats gonna happen with the new laptop with all its problems?
    Aww, I don’t have a clue, Aathira.. hopefully we should buy some repair kit or CD and fix it over the weekend!!!

  5. there is a saying in malayalam -” korangante kayyil poomala ” ; which literally translates to garlands in the hands of a monkey ! 😀 😀 😀 😀
    Sooo funny!! They must have come up with that saying after seeing you 🙂

  6. What a dilemma 🙂 So now what? 🙂

    First time here Pallavi, and loved this first post I read…
    The dilemma continues, Lakshmi! Thank you so much for your kind words, and WELCOME to my blog 🙂

  7. Isiliye old film cameras were the best. Get the reel washed and voila! memories galore:)

    This happened when I met a blogger friend and lost pics:(
    I can so understand.

    PS:– missing this world too Pal. And the fun we used to have.

    lots of love
    ((((((hugs)))))
    Indy
    Definitely agree, Indy girl!!! I don’t trust any laptops for that matter. Always prefer prints in hand 🙂 MIssing all the fun, Indy? come back to regular blogging, no? We miss u too 😦 And Sols has completely disappeared 😦

  8. If you don’t have any data is it..try backup and restore.. might work and save the new laptop.. All the best..
    I think the hubby has done a back-up, but I happened to ‘cut’ all my recent India trip pics and ‘paste’ it in the New (aka Old) lappy 😦 Thanks a lot, for the idea, Nam! Btw, is that your name?

  9. 1)Take a step forward
    2)Place a glass tumbler on the table
    3)Take 15 table spoons of salt
    4)Pour concentrated H20 about 2 liters into the tumbler
    5)Add the salt into this mixture
    6)Add a little vinegar
    7)Place the ancient laptop into this glass tumbler
    8)Seal the tumbler tightly with an air tight lid

    And voila…u have “Uppil itta vecha” Laptop!!!
    Shoo shoo…. you should work with HP or Dell or something… nobody will EVER come back with a complaint!!! 🙄

    1. Wikipedia says “Tumblers are flat-bottomed drinking glasses” Now my question is to Mr. Convicted Professor Brat

      In step 2 of your procedure you told to place a glass tumbler to put the faulty laptop in. I am assuming you forgot that everyone doesn’t get drunk like you in such a HUGE Tumbler 😛

      Btw Your Drinking and then commenting is injurious to the mental health of other sane bloggers. I hope this time the law keeps you confined for a longer period. Amen!
      ROFL!!! Comment is injurious to mental health 😉

    2. ooops…i forgot to add one critical step

      6.5) Get a shrink ray gun(Copyright* Honey,i shrunk the kids) and shrink the latptop/ Get a the same gun(Copyright* Honey,i blew up the kid) and reverse the settings and blow up the tumbler to fit ur laptop

      Awwww…. Karate Kid aka Brat, you are hereby officially declared ‘Laptop Killer’!!! What ideas huh?!!!!

  10. Pal this comment is in response to your FB status where you said you are thankful for all the get well wishes for your laptop.

    Well we do want your laptop to be in the pink of health, so that you can comment on our FB updates, blogs and of course Butt photos :mrgreen:

    He he he, thank u, Saksh!!! Ahem, did you happen to mention Butt Photos? Now, there’s good incentive for me to get the lappy repaired 😉

  11. Just chuck em both and pick up another one, or get the company to give you a replacement for the new one that got hacked!!
    Oh I’d looooove to, Aaroo, but this New (now Old) is not even a year old 😦

So, what do you think?

