On losing weight and gaining friends


Sigh! I finally decided to DO SOMETHING about my weight.

I got myself a really cool pair of cropped joggers and a branded sporty Tee! If that didn’t inspire me enough, I tuned the TV to a Fitness channel! And with all this gear in place, I got on. On to the laptop, I mean, and efficiently wasted an hour or so on Facebook and blog-hopping! (Now I don’t mean Blog-hopping is a waste of time… before our local Naradas and Naradis get to work on this!!).

Then I read a friends FB status about ‘Do-nuts and Krispy Kreme’ and almost felt faint at the thought of a delicious melting-in-the-mouth Do-nut πŸ™„ Before I could fall for the trap, I pulled myself up, and actually got onto the treadmill. Yippee!!!! Twenty minutes later (with about 3 breaks in-between 😦 ) I was still not through, and I tried some Aerobics from this DVD that promised me ‘REAL RESULTS’ πŸ˜‰ (Which btw, quite turned off Hubby – who seemed pretty upset at the inclusion of that elderly lady in the group of young nubile lasses πŸ˜‰ )

By evening, I was so enthused, that I laid a bet with a friend of mine, about who would lose more weight by the end of this month.

So in the selfless spirit of TRUE friendship, we set off to encourage each other.

With best wishes and warm regards, I sent her a box of laddoos and milk-sweets, along with a packet of yummy Cheedai!

For her part, my ‘friend’ promptly sent me a HUGE bar of Cadbury’s fruit and nut chocolate! I couldn’t hurt her sentiment, so this morning, I forced myself to eat about 6 pieces of that divine treat 😦

Sigh!!! What else can one do? Refuse a gift and hurt a friend’s sentiment? Or accept the gift, and make sure you give back much more?

Got to go now, folks. Plans are on, to make and send some paneer makhani in return πŸ˜‰ So much for weight loss!

72 thoughts on “On losing weight and gaining friends

    1. He he, you bet, Pix. Going to bombard her with all those sweets and snacks from Chennai πŸ˜‰ And thank u πŸ™‚ If I do happen to lose even a gram, I will let you know πŸ™‚

  1. Good luck with it Pallavi !! – what sweets did you bring back from Chennai πŸ˜‰
    Oh and Paneer Makhani recipe pleaseeeeee

    1. He he. Urmi, I brought dabbas of laddoos, milk sweets and 2 tiny pkts of Kaju katli. We’ve distributed half of it already, but the rest is in GRAVE danger of being gobbled up by moi πŸ™‚ Paneer Makhani – I was just joking πŸ™‚ I am not a good cook at all! But yeah, I will do my best to make sure my dear friend does not lose weight πŸ˜‰

  2. and you call each other friends, huh? πŸ˜€ πŸ˜€ πŸ˜€

    and that fitness video will turn off any male; what on earth, I mean, what the hell is that oldie doing there ??

    your anticipatory bail doesnt work! you mentioned blog hopping is a waste of time !! You deserve to be punished !!! Saaaaksssh, Brat, what do we do ??? πŸ˜€

    1. Ofcourse we are friends. Like Hardy and Hardy, you see. ROFL, even you didn’t like that fitness video cover? Anticipatory bail huh? I could just go back and edit the post πŸ˜‰ without Naradi and Brat getting to know about it. But er… I think I will take the risk and wait for the onslaught, if any!

    2. Me and Brat together have come to the conclusion that you both deserve to be punished πŸ˜› Vimmu (for saying that my brain is Made in China and thus has a manufacturing defect) and Pal for declaring that Bratu’s terminator skills and my comment researches are a waste of time.

      This is how the esteem panel of judges will melt out the punishment.
      Vimmu will sing chaiya chaiya to Pal until she faints and breaks her ear drums
      Pal in return will cook a 12 course meal and forcibly feed Vimmu till he runs for the bathroom.

      Justice of the highest order prevails in Brat Saks Court *thud* *thud*

        1. And i hope this video will help motivate u to lose some weight! πŸ˜‰
          :mrgreen:

          Thts the punishment u get for calling ‘blog-hopping’ a waste of time! Buhahahahhahaha!! more Buhahahahhahahahahahaa!! :mrgreen:
          Waaaaaaaaaaawwwwwwww…..booooo…..hoooooo….. 😦 Additional punishment!! But I even got ‘anticipatory bail’, didn’t I???????

    1. Beautiful thoughts, Yuva!! You’re just the friend I need. But point 2 (sports) – I don’t mind if its something to do with hands/eyes/legs… like Shopping!!!

  3. That was one cool post..in fact I could actually relate to falling for blog hopping in the hours when I should actually be jogging πŸ˜€ πŸ˜€
    Love your ‘sweet’ concern for your dear friend πŸ˜€
    Best wishes for your weight loss program πŸ™‚

    Cheers!!

    1. He he, thank you, CB. Best wishes accepted with lots of gratitude πŸ™‚ You’re the only one who wished me, btw πŸ˜‰ The others have been ‘good friends’ πŸ˜‰

  4. hahaha.. what lovely friends i say!! πŸ˜€

    btw, y u wanna rely on that silly video??? ;o) am sure running around Rishi will keep u busy n fit n fine…

    1. LOL! It should, but it hasn’t over the last 3 years 😦 therefore the video. Plus, I bought this a year ago, and didn’t even open the cover, until another friend threatened to ‘borrow’ it from me πŸ˜‰ So Generous Pallavi decided to use the Dvd herself!!

  5. Why don’t you go one step ahead and be a better friend and send me all that ladoo and sweets? In return I will be a true friend and gobble up all that and send you back my skinny pic in skinny jeans to motivate ya πŸ˜›

    1. Seriously, I don’t understand how some people can be so skinny despite everything they eat. And poor folks like me only have to breathe to put on weight 😦

  6. Last post Cake by Uma..this one Ladoos.. drool.. I might have to move in next doors.. to help you lose weight of course..I will eat all sweets from India that way you don’t have to..and you get to continue your weight loss regime.. Yes yes, I am very good friend like that πŸ˜› πŸ˜›

  7. It’s good that you have some “hooks” to keep you working out. Otherwise one just gives up. My own strategy is to never exercise per se since I get really bored. Instead I try and play a game that works me out.

    Examples now are Table Tennis (we bought a TT table in Chennai), Basketball, and Swimming. I’ve also taken up darts, but that doesn’t count πŸ™‚

  8. Heheheheeee.. Loved the post & all the comments above too. As long as you’re gaining something too, losing weight should be easy-peasy! The video just cracked me up. Your hubby is totally right πŸ˜€
    He he, all I gained over the last 2 days was 300 gms. I think I’m better off not exercising at al!! LOL, poor old lady in the video….

  9. I am on a strict diet of no non-veg and sugar.Non veg was able to stop myself but these laddoos snap, i am not able to resist,will go and buy some.I wish i had a friend like yours,cause everyone give chocolates to the kids and my kids hate to share chocolates with me.

    All the best for your weight reducing sessions
    He he, I hope you enjoy laddoos this weekend πŸ™‚ And that’s why you need to have your own private stock of chocolates that the Kids don’t know about πŸ˜‰

  10. Pampering each other with sweets and chocolates! πŸ˜€ It’ll we more of an exercise in resisting temptation than losing weight πŸ˜€ πŸ˜€ Lol @ inclusion of elderly in the group of young lasses πŸ˜€

    Ejjactly, Ajay! That’s the intention πŸ˜‰

  11. Thanks for the tips πŸ˜†

    Friends or no friends, if I follow them I’d probably reach a point-of-no-return very soon. And that laddu image is very tempting…

    Thanks, Scorpio Genius πŸ™‚ Point of no return… sigh!!!

  12. I read your post, got lost in the comment recipes and then went back on the post and jumped directly to the comment form..and all these things for the topic that does not affect me as I have a high metabolism!! πŸ˜› πŸ˜›

    He he!!! Oh you’re another ultra-slimmy, aren’t u? Sigh……. πŸ™‚

  13. LOL!

    You evil, here I’m trying to make my mind up to finally resume my work out and there you are tempting the hell out of me by putting up the cadbury pic and mentioning about paneer makhani..yumyumyumyumyum!! πŸ˜€ πŸ˜€

    Why on earth are YOU trying to work out, Deeps????!!! I think I need to send some Cadburys your way too! Send me your postal address πŸ˜‰

  14. man being indian is good and bad lol. i mean to say like we have so many varieties of foods that taste really good, but man they can do some damage to our bodies. Good luck with your fitness journey.

    Thanks, Fitnfly! Your comment seemed to be ‘spam’, but when I reached your website, it was actually very informative πŸ™‚ Thanks!!

  15. ROFL πŸ˜€ . Long live fraaanships πŸ˜€ . The battle of the bulge is the greatest war mankind had ever waged! So good luck on your endeavor πŸ™‚ .

    He he, long live fraaanships πŸ™‚ Thanks, Dreamer πŸ™‚ Weekends aren’t too good for exercise, are they?

  16. haha … so much for friendship.

    All my dieting plans and exercise schedules are ruined by Onam .
    Count me in as ur friend.
    I would not rest until I once again come face to face with my clavicles ! ithu sathyam sathyam sathyam !!! ( clause : yummy payasams and fries not included )

  17. As soon as I visited your blog after reading the title and scrolled down…saw the laddoos and chocolates and knew how much weight you are going to reduce!

    All the best to you and your friend! The video is nice – Brat’s!

  18. ROFL Pals.. πŸ˜†

    You know.. me too hit the gym 😯 😦 Thank god.. you are now in UK else I wouldn’t be able to reduce even .1 KG πŸ˜€ πŸ˜€

    Anyway give an update on how much weight was increased at the end of the month πŸ˜†

    1. Ha ha ha, update on weight ‘gained’ during the month is totally appropriate πŸ™‚ !!! U hit the gym?? Drohi! Double chocolates coming your way next trip πŸ˜‰

  19. Welcome to Aryan’s blog Pallavi..I am here for the first time…
    wowo..sweets look so delicious..
    Don’t bother about weight loss…..

  20. Pal, all these dont work, when we crave for food so much, right ??? Friendships last for ever…so give in to the friendship demands and eat all that u want. πŸ˜‰ πŸ˜‰ πŸ˜‰

    I love Paneer Makhani…hmmm…delicious. BTW, isnt that friend “ME”, to whom u are planning to send them ??? πŸ˜‰ πŸ˜‰

    1. @ Aryan’s mom: Thank u πŸ™‚ Ha ha, good advice about not to bother about it πŸ™‚ The only practical solution, I guess πŸ˜‰

      @ Uma: Food cravings.. sigh!!! Great thought there, Uma, about giving into friendship instead of weight-loss πŸ™‚ Paneer makhani for you? Ofcourse!!!!! Anything for that heavenly chocolate cake of yours…. really, Uma, you must start a full time catering business. You will be a rock star!!!

  21. All the best he hehe i have been trying for a decade to loose wight got no where 😦

    so now i have given up and enjoying the fooooood πŸ™‚ paneer makhani MERA BHI SOCHNA pleaseeeeeeeeeeeee he he hehe
    he he, very happy to hear that!!

    1. @ Bikram: I know atleast 4 bloggers in the UK now, why don’t we all meet up in London sometime?

      @ Roshmi: Yeah, it was so difficult… sigh.. but I had to do it for the sake of Fraanship πŸ˜‰

  22. Hey!!! Checking your page after ages…not because I dont enjoy it anymore, but because the bummers at HSBC had blocked it!!
    Anyways that friend of yours doesnt remember getting the paneer makhani!! Not that it matters…u will win the bet hands down anyday!!
    More on my own cake eating regime in another post!!

So, what do you think?

