On weather and forecasts


Back home (and to me, home always means my maternal home. And that, by the way, is a small 2BHK in Chennai, and not some sort of ‘ancestral property’ as the words ‘maternal home’ might unwittingly indicate πŸ˜‰ )…well, back home, we never EVER checked weather forecasts. It was always hot. Hot, hotter, hottest (as my Mum would describe our Chennai weather). So the question of looking forward to hearing the weather forecast never occurred! To me, ‘weather forecasts’ simply meant a sweet smiling bimbo (sorry!) with absolutely straightened hair, smiling from an NDTV news channel and talking about rain or sun across different parts of India.

So when we moved to the UK, it came as quite a cultural shock to me, that the weather could change practically every hour!! In the peak of summer, for instance, we would step out of our apartment, wearing nothing more than a Tee and jeans. Halfway down the road, the sky would turn dark grey, and strong winds would threaten toΒ fly us away like kitesΒ (well, not me, but some of the really thin folks out here!).

Or BBC would forecast ‘heavy rains’, and so we would go out of the house, fully prepared, bundled up in a thick jacket and scarf! Only to realise that it is a really hot day, and yours truly reaches her destination, sweating like a pig (like my friend Pushy says, I haven’t seen a pig sweat, but hey, that’s how the phrase goes…).

Β 

So what made me write this non-post today? Two things.

One, my friend back in Chennai updated her FB status with something to the effect that her son’s school declared a ‘rain holiday’ but there were no rains!! This took me right back to my childhood.

We lived a stone’s throw away from our school. So whenever there were rains, my sister and I would be almost the first few kids to get to know if school was ‘open’ or ‘closed’. We would wade through the water (yeah, half a day’s rain would flood our narrow lanes. Infact, its pretty much the same situation even today! πŸ™„ ), reach our school, and look around for a small black notice board, that would announce that school was closed!!!Β On days when we didn’t find the board, we would trudge sorrowfully back home, pack our bags and head back to school.

Pic courtesy: school.discoveryeducation.com

But on the days that we did find the ‘School Closed’ board,Β we wentΒ ‘Yippeeee’!! We would ever so happily skip back home, announcing loudly ‘Girlie, school closed!‘ to every schoolgirl we found on the way. Since many schoolmates lived in our apartments, if one kid got the ‘good news’ she would often make sure everyone else knew too, by yelling loud from her verandah πŸ˜€

And THE BEST PART –Β Once we were back home, warmed and changed into fresh, dry clothes, the rains would magically disappear!!! Not a drop, half an hour from the ‘rain holiday’ declaration πŸ™‚ So my sis and I used to spend the day, playing quietly, reading or bickering! The walls and ceiling would leak (no, we did not live in a hut, but the walls did leak.. they do even today 😯 ), and the freshly washed clothes wouldn’t dry, but all that was my mother’s concern. For me and my sister, ‘school rain holiday’ meant a ‘free holiday’ πŸ™‚

Schools, however, are quite a bunch of sadists. They would always compensate the holiday by making us work a subsequent Saturday. That was kind of irritating. But hey! We cannot have everything, can we?

Its been raining all day long, and quite appropriately, BBC had predicted we would have ‘sunny spells’, which are yet to happen!

So that’s that about rains and weather forecasts!

The second reason for me writing this post today was Deep’s comment – again on FB – about Blogworld being so quiet these days. I too, find the old-timers πŸ˜‰ lying low. I miss the fun we used to have during days when Solilo and Indy girl were around. The masti we had on Hitchy Bhai’s blog. With lil Pixie adding sweet comments. And Swaram throwing in some vile ones πŸ˜‰ Quirky writing some exceptionally tongue-in-cheek posts! Someone called someone else a ‘Comment Monster’ πŸ˜‰ And it was all just so much fun πŸ™‚ Sigh! I miss those days. Some folks have just taken a sabbatical (from blogging πŸ˜‰ ), some got married, some just disappeared!

Come back, you all!!

Cheerio folks… like I said,Β its been raining all day out here, and I need to figure out a way to get hold of some bread!!

x

89 thoughts on “On weather and forecasts

  1. You had me hooked from the very first line – and in my case it was my maternal grandmother’s house in Chennai, which was not ‘home’ but definitely the summer holiday home we went to, every year.
    Awww, thank you, Shankari πŸ™‚ Coming from you, that means a LOT to me, thanks again πŸ™‚ You had a maternal house in Chennai too? Wow!!!!

  2. hahaaha! so u remembered abt pigs sweating..well its nice to see u back on blogosphere and on FB….welcome back!!! :))
    He he he, I did, Pushy. Infact, I think I will remember you every time I use that phrase now πŸ˜‰

  3. Pal, what a refreshing post.
    Danks, Neha πŸ™‚

    I love to read about people, their lives, their thoughts and such things when it comes to reading blogs of close friends..your description of maternal house reminded me of my thoughts for my maternal home. school – well, in my town, there used to be knee deep water on the way to school..sometimes it used to flood too..there was a beach right behind my school, thus it used to be very windy as well..so we have enjoyed a lot of rainy holidays πŸ™‚
    Wow, that description should be a post in itself, Neha πŸ™‚

    about blogsphere being quiet – many bloggers are missing..people whom I read regularly have been hibernating..I miss them!!
    Me too, me too….

    1. yeah, you should take it up as a challenge and stay put on a beach when they forecast a tsunami ! πŸ˜€ πŸ˜€
      ROFL! You on a commenting spree, eh, Prince Villiam?’

  4. Hey Pallavi, felt s nostalgic πŸ™‚ staying two streets away from school I used to call kids who stayed right opp to school and ask for updates and spread it to the ones living far away:)!!!

    How much i used to pray i shd rain on days I had class test :)!!!fun fun fun!!!

    He he he, same pinch, Shuba πŸ™‚

  5. UK weather unpredictable; tell me about it ! those three days were enough for me ! πŸ˜€ πŸ˜€ I somehow dont like when it rains. Its so gloomy and sad. I like when its crisp. something which we rarely find here in chennai though. But even then, I prefer chennais heat to the rains πŸ˜€ πŸ˜€
    Chennai and crisp weather… ha ha, NEVER!!! I actually prefer cold weather to hot now. Hot is just unbearable. Cold atleast seems romantic πŸ˜‰

    I agree, except for a few, the blogworld is sleeping big time. Though new ones keep coming, the oldies are always missed. People who had written volumes about blogging and its addiction are no longer seen πŸ˜‰ Wonder whats keeping them busy ! Marriage is just an excuse, I feel; I got married, rt? πŸ˜€ πŸ˜€ πŸ˜€
    Exactly, and you made a ‘guest appearance’ at our long-awaited blog meet πŸ˜‰ Just kidding!!

    Btw, did you ever get to throw a stone at your school ??? πŸ˜€ πŸ˜€
    Arrrrggghhhh…. semma kadi….

    1. hey vimmuuu

      Well, i’ve made up my mind to blog every 2days…but u no reading my posts.. sob sob… poor me!! 😦

      Btw, lady, you never read my blog either πŸ˜‰ So what are you cribbing about???

        1. Ahem.. never???? i distinctly remember reading all ur travelogues, ur washing machine shirt, and even ur song playlist .. bah!! πŸ˜› πŸ˜› πŸ˜› ….

      1. ok… small doubt…

        who’s comment is in BOLD? Pal- is that u?? thot it was vimmuuu n replied…ofcourse i read ur blog dearie… most times am reading while on the move, on phone, n cant comment from there… athaan…. now on u shall see me here marking attendence! πŸ˜€ πŸ˜€

    2. “Btw, did you ever get to throw a stone at your school ???” Was that a serious question,Vims…then I’ve no problems whatsoever..Pals give him an answer!!But if it was an attempt at flaunting your (non)sense of humour( as is the case most of the time)….then God save me and the rest of us :twisted:.. Pals, you’ve got to allow me to throw a rock at him right here on your page..please oh please..my palms are itching πŸ˜› πŸ˜›
      LOL! Please, Deeps, feel free to throw rocks, chappals, anything at all, but lets do it on Vimmu’s blog πŸ˜‰ πŸ˜‰

      1. LOL, she was the one who mentioned that her school was just a stone throw away ! πŸ˜€

        palms are itching, huh? I heard Itchguard is effective; you should try it ! πŸ˜€
        Ayyo, semma kadi!!!!

  6. Hey Pal

    Same pinch no back pinch… hahah.. i lived right around from my school for the better part of my schooling and was among the 1st to know if there was school or not!! πŸ˜€
    He he, that was so much fun, no?

    Oh and yes, its like God and our govt have some sort of telepathy going.. the min Govt declares holiday, the sky clears, Sun is shining and NOT a drop of rain!!! bah… why cant Govt just shut up and let the lovely rains continue… πŸ˜€
    Ayyo, seriously yaar, it ALWAYS happens!!! But if the Govt. were to shut up, then we won’t get our rain holidays, would we??

    another thing i have to tell u- Only last eve me and a friend were talking abt how people survive UK weather- rains, chill damp all through the year…. so damn annoying..rains i love, dampness n stink no way!!
    He he he… Just gets difficult with a Kid around, but when it was ‘just me’ I really loved the cold weather!’

  7. Aww.. hugs Pals! πŸ™‚

    I’m here! Still around! Still commenting! πŸ˜‰
    Not writing anything .. will get back to that as well! πŸ˜€

    I loved this post! Came to office now and its been drizzling here and the weather is simply Brilliant! πŸ™‚
    Good to see you back Pix, please post too… why this sudden hiatus from blogging? 😦

  8. Hey… !! lovely lovely post… we used to have the same sort of rain holidays… and they were awesome… we mostly would get wet… drive our cycles through flooded streets… !!!! those were the days as they say… now when it rains we sit in office and finish our reports… and when it stops we are out to sell 😦

    LOL! Thats the side-effects of growing up, Hitchy bhai!! Btw, good to see u back πŸ™‚

    and I have finally decided next month I am buying an internet connection… you should soon see me around as a Raat ka Jeev… jo cheene sabki neend… !!!! I hope you can figure that hindi bit out !! πŸ˜› πŸ˜› πŸ˜›
    Oh finally! Good good, so we can expect some action soon!!! And what did u mean about my Hindi? Want me to write a post in Hindi?? Challenge hai kya??

  9. Ennama? Vile-aaaaaaaaaaaa 😯 Enna aachi πŸ˜›

    Sigh! This post is so sweet that it makes me wanna go bk home and lie down reading a nice book πŸ˜‰

    LOL!!!! That was just for fun.. chumma πŸ˜‰ Go and write a post, instead, Swar πŸ˜‰

  10. Excellent post πŸ™‚ I loved the bit about the ‘maternal home’ πŸ˜› Could identify with the ‘trudging in the rain water’ because when I studied in Mumbai for 5 years; my school was a 15 minute walk from my paati’s home and the school was in a low-lying area so even with a bit of rain as you said; it would be flooded πŸ˜‰

    Awww, thanks Urmi, we have so much in common, don’t we? I guess that’s the thing that binds us all together in this virtual world!!

  11. That was the sweetest post, Pals!! I’m so nostalgic now..and even more homesick πŸ˜₯
    “Back home (and to me, home always means my maternal home. ”

    Hi5! Even when I’m in Kerala I dont know why but I’ve always had a closer connection with my maternal relatives. Strange, I know, but thats how it has always been.

    Me too, me too πŸ™‚ I hope the nostalgia rakes up another post out of you now πŸ˜‰

    Oh I miss the rains, Pals…its a through-the-year-yearning for me πŸ˜€ School days are so much fun, no….how I wish I could have them back, evry minute, every second of it!

    As for the blog-world, you spoke for all of us…I miss those days like hell! High time we devised a strategy to bring them all back in the game πŸ˜€
    Yeah, all for it πŸ™‚ Let’s do something!!

    1. Pal, what did you do now? She is even more homesick, it seems. One more excuse for a blog break ! πŸ˜€ πŸ˜€ πŸ˜€
      He he, ofcourse she isn’t! Infact she vonly started off this whole thing with her FB status update!

      Hmmm…I pity you. you were thrown out of school, werent you ? Dont worry, there are schools in India where they teach oldies and aunties like you ! you should try them πŸ˜€
      Sigh! You ignorant boy!! Go to my school even today, and the teachers all remember me and my lil sis as some of their best ever students!!! Hey and who did you call Oldies and Aunties????? Brrrrrr………. :mrshock:

      I

      1. I can see how much you vouch for those schools, from the way you’ve left behind that ‘I’ in your comment. You were going to say “I’ve tried them myself”, right?? I knew it!! 😈 πŸ˜†

        LOL, Smart of u to have noticed that Deeps! He deserves it,doesn’t he? πŸ˜‰

        1. Muah, Pals! This Muthappan seems to have forgotten the difference between ‘old’ and ‘young’…he is confused!!

          Muthappa, this is what happens when you defy my advice to have those memory enhancing tablets 😈

        2. You already earned enough points when you played that prank on me, Sweets…wait for me to level the scores and then I’ll show you my true colours πŸ˜‰ πŸ˜€ πŸ˜›

          Oh Noooooooooo!!!!! What have I got myself into??!!!!!!!!!!

  12. Even now I hope against hope for an unexpected school holiday, so that I can wake up late and not have to race against time getting the kids ready for school ;).
    Since I was lucky enough to grow up in Trivandrum, other than natural disasters we’d quite often have hartals and strikes too. When a strike was expected, we would actually make bets, on the way to school as to whether, we’d have a working day or not πŸ™‚ .

    1. LOL! What an entertaining childhood it must have been! I was just heading over to your blog, when I found your comment at mine πŸ™‚ Welcome back, dreamer πŸ™‚

  13. I still have the privilege to enjoy college holidays (but I’ll say school’s were always better) πŸ˜€ but the worst thing is they compensate for them by holding classes on weekends 😦 So many fond memories of our early days are attached with school that they make us nostalgic. Nice recollections of good, old school days πŸ™‚
    Awww… I hate it when they do those ‘compensating work days’ 😦 Thank u for ur visit, Ajay πŸ™‚

  14. Aaah pal what was this post all about? Have a dislocated brain after taking over your job of replying to comments 😦

    So when all these missing bloggers are back you are saying you will declare a “Blogger Holiday” and we need to run and hide somewhere safe?? 😯 :mrgreen:

    Ps: Who called whom a Comment Monster?

        1. … and I took all the trouble siding you in the Stone Throwing comment? 😑 Pal can you delete that comment where I call this Garbage Rakshasan Atta Boy?? if not at least let everyone know that the stone I picked up was not for you and Deeps 😳 Hugs my lovely oldie goldie sistahs :mrgreen:

  15. I did my BSc in Mangalaore and we used to get to enjoy so many rain hols during Monsoon. All of us would head to the nearby cinema theatres with the rain drenched clothes/to the famous ice cream parlor, Ideal instead of going back and chnging the dress….gone are those good old days..

  16. I am going green with envy. In mumbai we rarely got Rain holidays, even during heavy rains. But on London weather. aah its really horrible to not be able to be in control.
    And hmmm have to google out the origin of sweating like pigs:)
    nice blog you have here:)

    and yeah i can understand how times change in blogworld. but like in real world, we get a newer set and rediscover later the older set:)

    1. Oh really? I thought Bombay kids would get lots of such ‘rain hols’ 😦 Awww… And yes, like you said, we do get a newer set and rediscover the old πŸ™‚ Ain’t that just profound?
      Btw, WD, your blog is awesome!!! The latest Rampy post was outstanding πŸ™‚ Going to be a regular at your blog now πŸ™‚

      1. maybe because of the regular rains they thought it would be futile to give frequent rain holidays. chennai gets so much rain holidays it unbelievable.
        came here from bikram, and I am also glad I discovered your blog:)

        1. Thank u WD πŸ™‚ And yes, I guess you are right, ‘rain hols’ in Bombay would mean a month of hols for kids? πŸ˜‰ Also, Chennai is very badly equipped to handle rains. A couple of hours’ worth rain could cause severe water-logging in most roads – even the main ones 😦

  17. neenga chennai ah?? now in UK…me as well…. weather elam we always were ghastly shocked…. chennai la always”adutha 24 mani nerathil idi yuden… πŸ™‚ ” ..but here hourly… nice blog… will keep trotting behind!

        1. I was just thinking on the same lines πŸ˜‰ Now, we have Smita, Bikram, HaRy and me πŸ™‚ Yippeee!!! Just that we live in different parts of UK, but still, its good to know we COULD meet some time!

  18. That was quite a post, brought a smile tom y face imagining two girls going to check the blackboard to find whether its a rain-holiday for the school and then yippeeeing about it πŸ™‚

  19. LOL Pals… πŸ˜† Me too look for those free leaves very much.. but my home is far off from school.. so we have to call the school to be sure..

    But the bad thing is, power cut on that day.. I feel boring without TV then..

    And yeah.. blogworld very quiet now-a-days for sure… Hope it comes alive soon..

  20. Very true…it was last tuesday – the schools were declared a holiday after 2 days of continuous rain, but alas it didnt rain a drop on tuesday…irony at its best !!! πŸ™‚

    Oh, those childhood days – lovely nostalgic memories. Even though I didnt live so close to the school, we’ll go all the way to the school and come back home and have total fun – me and my sister, exactly like you both. πŸ™‚ Such fun-filled days.

    Really ??? I didnt know that pigs dont sweat. So, why the phrase ???

    1. @ Kanagu- Yeah, but those days, we also had friends, right? So TV or no TV, we could have a good time πŸ˜‰

      @ Uma – Oh you and your sis too? Aren’t sisters the best thing ever (despite all the comparisons and bickering) πŸ™‚

  21. I have never ever had an unexpected holiday 😦

    Now that I look back, it was a very normal school life… no wading through water, no surprise holidays, just the usual classes and back home!

  22. Just when I was getting over my homesickness, I go and read this post! I have almost identical memories of getting wet on the back from school!

    Here, as you say, the weather changes every minute 😦 Just as I resigned myself to a day at home, the sun comes out, brilliant, now I have to go out or daughter will kill me πŸ™‚

    So nice that we share similar memories despite being from different places and cities πŸ™‚ Are you all settled in now, Smitha? Weather’s been awesome this week, hasn’t it?

So, what do you think?

