On Liberation – Chennai Diaries – Part II


You read it right!! Chennai liberates me. Staying here un-binds me from formalities and etiquette 🙂 For example…

  • You do not have to smile at people on the road or wish them a Good Morning/afternoon or evening, as the case may be! In London, people are uber polite. Well, most of the time. So it can get quite tiresome at times, to have to smile at a stranger and wish good-day. Back home, one is free to smile, smirk, frown or even growl!! No one feels bad at the lack of etiquette 🙂
  • You can bump into someone on the road, and continue to walk like nothing ever happened! You don’t have to say ‘Sorry’ or even look apologetic 🙂 We are above such formalities!!!
  • You can jump queues, cut traffic, take a U-turn right in the middle of a traffic-packed road. People will scream at you, with the choicest words and colourful language. But you don’t actually need to pay much heed. Just yell back and move on. Such is life here. Smooth as can be 🙂
  • Finish a tetra-pack of juice and you don’t necessarily need to look for a garbage-bin. Just contribute your pack to any growing pile of garbage at the corner of any road. And voila! Job done 🙂

This, my friends, is true liberation.

Well, I have no complaints! So far, I’m loving it.

And on that note, wish you all a very happy Independence Day 🙂

x

33 thoughts on “On Liberation – Chennai Diaries – Part II

  1. hahahaahaha! pal..u have to see many more things while u r here:
    ….enjoy honking endlessly at the signal thinking that red will turn green sooner on ur honking…?
    Seriously, Pushy, I don’t understand why they ever do that!!! I’m going to add this into Part III and link it back to your blog 🙂

    Make a dent in the car and then quarrel with them for getting too close to u…
    He he he!! Anything for a street fight eh? 😉

    … shout out to get an attention of a friend who is on the opposite side of the road
    I thought I’d replied to this, but yeah, I did it today 🙂

    stand in the middle of road to see an argument which is of no interest to u
    He he. awesome , Pushy!!!

    borrow a potato from a neighbor
    LOL! Btw, I do that even back in UK 😉

    and of course get STD calls from different parts of India who will call u at all odd hours, especially when u r* resting*
    happy holidays!!!
    :))
    Thx so much, Pushy! And for your call too… it was awesome talking to you 🙂

  2. 😀 I live in the US and completely understand what you mean. Another thing I love to do in India is just to say the word “Bomb” loudly! Here in the US, there’s such a paranoia that I feel myself bursting with the urge to just say it 🙂

    There’s even a sign in airports saying that no jokes are allowed beyond this point!

    ROFL! That was funny, and scary at the same time 🙂 Thanks for sharing, Bhagwad 🙂 Btw, thank you for visiting my blog!!!

  3. ROFL 😆 things are like the way we see it.. isn’t it???

    but this is not the liberty we can be proud of…

    Oh yes, I agree. I was just making a mockery of liberty 🙂

  4. 😆
    This kind of liberation – not good! But your interpretation of it is hilarious!
    nice theme! same pinch! 😉

    Yeah, same pinch, Pix!! I agree, this sort of liberation is very distasteful 🙄

  5. ROFL Pal 😛
    We luv our India 🙂
    Happy Independence day 🙂

    Oh yes we do 🙂 Thanks and wish you the same, Swar!! Been meaning to call you, but somehow, the days are whizzing past!!

  6. Liberated soul, very happy to have meet with one. 🙂 🙂

    LOL @ ur thots…there’s always a green side to everything, na ??? 😉

    Happy Independence day !!! 🙂

    Hee hee, thank you and wish you the same, Uma!!

  7. Good one… 😀

    Walk in the middle of the road and not move even if a car is honking ur ass off
    Ejjakaly!!!

    Spit paan juice from the bus
    Hee hee, and spit it really far, so the unsuspecting bikers on the road are drenched in red!!

    most impportant is the gazillion men who get to pee on the streets!! 😀
    Gosh! That is really the filthiest thing about Chennai, isn’t it?!

  8. I was enjoying what you wrote till I read the last point about garbage. Do you feel liberated when you see what you see? Sorry Pal but I feel eeky. I really don’t like what I see in India and I feel squeamish. It’s probably the first time I may have disagreed with your post 🙂

    Oho, Urmi, this was a fun post, not a serious one dahling 🙂 I have more coming btw 🙂

    1. @ Lostworld: Isn’t it!! Three cheers 🙂

      @ Masood: Totally!! Sorry for the late reply, but thanks and I hope you had a good ‘Independence Day’ too 🙂

    1. @ Chinkurli: Welcome to my Blog 🙂 Definitely no place like India 🙂 Infact a neighbour of mine asked me the same thing, that is, does my little brat find India dirty? And I said ‘No, he loves it here’. The brat obviously overheard, and the next time we passed through a nearby slum dwelling, he promptly pronounced it dirty!!

  9. just thinking what to say ,
    2ooo farmers from Ranchi India, wrote letter to President of India, asking to allow them to commit suicide
    This is our India.

    1. @ Yuva: LOL, even with all this, India is the most happening place methinks 😉 London really pales in comparison 😉

      @ SM: Oh God… that’s awful… 😦

  10. Long live TRUE LIBERATION… indeed true what you wrote .. what use are these bins and why say sorry.. if you were in punjab you will end up in a fight how dare you bump in me …
    happy independance day to you toooo LONG LIVE MY COUNTRY …

  11. You’re being candid, painting the true picture with irony and humor 😀 But seriously, would there ever be a change?

    1. He he, I don’t think EVER, Ajay! But if things were to change, then it would be very much like living abroad… quiet, peaceful and utterly monotonous 😉 In India, EACH DAY IS DIFFERENT 😉

So, what do you think?

