BPL – We won!


And… WE DID IT!! We won the first ever Bloggers Premier League πŸ™‚ by Cafe Ginger Chai dot Com. The Tigers roared all the way through, and swept most of the awards too πŸ™‚ When Cafe Ginger chai announced BPL, I was very excited!! It was an innovative concept,something nobody had tried earlier. And considering the number of players (6 groups of 8 players each), and the fact that this contest would run into a couple of weeks.. fortnights even, it seemed to be quite a challenge!!

Neha and Kanagu have already blogged about our Journey in BPL.. and I would just like to add this… When Cafe Ginger Chai and LakshmiRajan announced the Teams, I was so sceptical, because I did not know anybody!! But I knew, for sure, that team performance would be so much better if we already had great team dynamics in place.

Fortunately, for us, Neha and I hit it off on Day 1, and we chatted on FB like long lost friends πŸ™‚ She was my pillar of support, friend, guide.. and source of encouragement all through the League. And ofcourse, like I mentioned earlier on her blog, she is a chatterbox, leader, busy little girl – all rolled into one – I called her my favourite ‘Hitler’ πŸ™‚ And to think that I subsequently wrote on Hitler in one of the rounds and topped that category πŸ˜‰ (so much for modesty..phew!!)

At first, GC announced a WARM-UP round, to introduce ourselves. This was perhaps, the best thing they did πŸ™‚ It gave us all a fair chance to get to know our writing skills and interests. Which was very important for a ‘team’ to perform ‘together’. Neha and I were chatting (again) on FB, and we decided to go ahead with the Limericks format, because Neha had already done some work in that genre, and I found it very interesting too. The rest of the team took to this idea so readily, and in no time, we had an awesome set of limericks to present!!

It was at this stage, that 2 out of 8 members disappeared πŸ™‚ And therein was a grand entrance made by Kanagu πŸ˜‰

Now we had this super-duper-writer who calls himself IdliVadaSambar πŸ˜‰ and his email Id has a ‘king’ in it, so he became our defactor Β King Sudhakar:-) I had never read his work earlier, but this 55-er took my breath away πŸ™‚ and I just KNEW that he was a hell of a player in BPL πŸ™‚ Infact EVERY post by Sudhi was a stunner in its own right, and I am so glad he was adjudged Best Male Player of the entire tournament. He completely deserved it!!!

We had this particular round, where the teams had to come up with a Magazine name, and Sudhi stunned us by designing an entire Magazine itself!!! Infact, it was so fantastic, that somebody even contacted Saurabh, to ask if he could write for our next edition!!!

To complement King, we had a Himalayan-returned Debs, who charged into action with a whopper of a post. Again, it was her little 55-er that gave me clear indication of what a fantastic performer she would be in the rounds to come πŸ™‚ True to it, she won almost every time she wrote something!! Proud of you, Debs!

Infact one of her posts in the tournament was so exceptional, that in a fit of frenzy, I vowed that I would give up blogging, if her post did not win. Luckily, she won πŸ˜‰ πŸ˜‰

Kanagu – as you all know – is this simple, sweet guy. Pretends to work at office, but is mostly blogging away. What I like most about him is that he is so unassuming, so humble, that he simply takes on ANY topic assigned to him or left out after everyone else had chosen. He’s such a no-fuss guy, and we could always count on him, to write some strong analytical stuff on even the most boring topic. I especially liked his post on Education – totally rocking!!

Arpita – Unfortunately, I haven’t read much of her work, and since I am miles away from Poetry as a genre, I cannot comment much on her work. Though, she was a very sweet and encouraging Teammie πŸ™‚ She was always there with kind words for me and the rest of the team, and with suggestions and comments πŸ™‚

Rashmi – Again, sweet little kid. At the times she wasn’t writing exams, she was working really hard at blogging, creating interesting posts like her Aliens Report. Always ready to take feedback from the rest of the team, this little girl was a pleasure to have around.

Saurabh – How could I forget my favourite hip hop guy!! I call him that, because that’s what his email ID sounds like πŸ™‚ He would churn out hilarious posts, though I really wish his ‘Maa’ interview had won – it was outstanding πŸ™‚ And I remember one comment of his, on this post of mine ‘Princess of the Dark’ – Β when he said he was happy to have lived to read my post πŸ™‚ I was utterly humbled and touched *tears in my eyes*

So thank you, LakshmiRajan, Mani Padma and Cafe Ginger Chai team. Thank you, AWESOME PANEL OF JUDGES, for giving us this super duper opportunity to get to read a bunch of utterly talented bloggers.

And ofcourse, for having ajudged us THE WINNERS OF THE BLOGGERS PREMIER LEAGUE πŸ™‚ HURRAY! ROARRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRR……

5 thoughts on “BPL – We won!

  1. Super like it πŸ™‚ You always had such encouraging words for me πŸ™‚ And you, Pal was the one player who could turn any ordinary topic into an extra-ordinary post πŸ˜‰ You have the creative imagination to look at a topic/issue from a completely different angle. My favs are your diary-format fiction of child of a prostitute and the NRI observation one! While usually anybody would have made the NRI observe, you made a completely standby person observe!!!!! Through the eyes of the late mother, the post found a whole new meaning πŸ™‚

    I am glad that thru BPL, we discovered each other and each other’s blogs! Thanks, GC πŸ™‚

  2. Loved the journey Pals… Its wonderful.. I missed the initial days 😦 you all know what happened earlier… primitive members of the team πŸ˜€ πŸ˜€

    Thanks for those sweet words on me… are you guys purposefully left the topics which I usually write on?? πŸ˜€ πŸ˜€
    LOL, never! It happened naturally πŸ™‚

    /*Pretends to work at office, but is mostly blogging away*/

    Gosh.. hope my PM never reads this before appraisal πŸ˜€ πŸ˜€
    Yeah, you bet πŸ™‚

  3. I am glad that TT ultimately won BPL…. something I had said Neha when our team crashed out …. I have said this at Neha’s again saying here … TT’s achievement is much bigger as you guys pulled through brilliantly despite being players down consistently πŸ˜€ … Do I still need to say ‘Congratz” πŸ˜›

    Awww… you said it all, and more πŸ™‚ Thank you, Dman πŸ™‚

  4. Great Pal…Even though I knew abt this sometime back, it is still wonderful to read it from the members through their journey…Congrats once again. πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚

    Thanks again, Uma πŸ™‚

So, what do you think?

