Contest – murder mystery


‘A Mystery is History!!’

Catchy lines from my son’s favourite ‘Tigger and Pooh’ πŸ™‚

IΒ love Mysterys. Always enjoyed reading them. Watching TV serials like Byomkesh Bakshi (olden days), and more recently, Special Squad (especially Aryan Khanna πŸ˜‰ ) and D.O.N (Remember, Mr.Archana Puran Singh? Er… Detective Omkar Nath)

So when Blogadda wanted to make the community more exciting, I suggested this concept of a WHO-DUNNIT mystery. For the last year or so, I’ve been a huge fan ofΒ Ajay‘s stories. When I asked him if he would be interested in writing the mystery for this contest, he very kindly agreed. And what a little gem he produced! On Blogadda’s request (and Ajay’s permission ofcourse), I peppered the story with some clues and distractions πŸ™„ πŸ˜› and it was nice to see the concept coming to life πŸ™‚

To confess, I was really nervous about how the blogworld would respond toΒ this contest. Then, WOW! What a bunch of interesting entries poured in!! What was equally fascinating was the ‘comments section’ with Suranga and the others exuding their sparkling wit in the form of poems, limericks and two-liners πŸ™‚

I am sure Sidin had a really tough time doing his job!!Β Its a pity though, that ‘only 2 of the entries were pronounced winners’! However, like Ajay rightly said, its the umpire’s decision that is final.

Tiku had asked me/Ajay to comment on the results. Ajay has already commented on the Blogadda website. AndΒ I would like to take the liberty to name a few ofΒ the entries that I found interesting.

Imho, this was a contest of judging not only the correct answer but also the quality of writing. I whole-heartedly agree with blogger Asheesh who said this is about the inner Ekta Kapoor πŸ˜‰ πŸ˜‰

Strictly, in my opinion: Lila had killed herself. That’s part I. Part II – the way it was carried out/motive/etc. of course is very subjective.

Bloggers had very seriously donned the detective’s hat and came up with extremely imaginative and creative suggestions of the killer/motive/weapon. Some spoke of poisoned beads, some of liquid HCN (wonder what that means πŸ™„ ), some others of poisoned roses :mrgreen: It was real fun πŸ™‚ entries by GyanbanΒ – (who also cheekily tried to mislead people into guessing πŸ˜‰ ) – Gosh! This guy must work with Scotland Yard!!! and Chatterbox‘s who was quite convincing.

I liked the entries by bloggers like Niveditha, Anu and Sudhakar whoΒ took tremendous effort toΒ ‘understand’ Lila’s character, and then come up with a solution. They were all, for a moment, or several moments, Lila herself. IΒ loved Urmi’s line ‘She was Lila, she couldn’t bow down even before the wishes of the Almighty’

Avada KedavraΒ nailed it with these lines: ‘Nobody in this house was capable of killing her. Moreover, nobody had any reason or motive what-so-ever to kill her, after these many years’

Shankha’s entry was very interesting and Soumya’s was straight-forward and convincing.

I also enjoyed reading the very sleuthy (is there such a word even?!!) solutions by bloggers like the Paranormal Guy,Β Chandana.

This particular wannabe writer was extremely creative in her presentation of the answer. Her entry was a class apart!!

Ashwini again got the answer simple and straight,Β but a little explanation would have done the trick.

Enjoyed the way Brindha has given a logical explanation for all those supposed clues, which really were meant to be distractions.

Blogger ArchangelΒ very cleverly took an alternate stance, that ‘No smart lady would kill herself’.

Unfortunately, I could not find this particular entry in her blog… hmm.. is this the beginning of the NEXT MYSTERY???!!!

The more I think of it, the more I wish we could have hadΒ atleastΒ 3 winners πŸ˜‰ and even that would be a challenge!!

And now, a totallyΒ uninvited vote of thanks:

Thanks to Blogadda for accepting my ideas/suggestions. It has really made me think!! So my blog friends, be ready for more such events!!!!!

Thanks to Ajay for so readily accepting to write a story, when he hardly knew me πŸ™‚ except through Ryze! I am sure we willΒ see your work in print some day.Β And I will hound you for an autographed copy πŸ™‚

Thanks to Tiku (and the rest of my blog-buddies) for being such a darling friend. IfΒ I have got anything out of this entire contest, it is friendship πŸ™‚

Thanks to ALL MY BLOGGER FRIENDS. You make me feel good about myself πŸ™‚ Thank you πŸ™‚ So much πŸ™‚

Cheers..

Pal

37 thoughts on “Contest – murder mystery

  1. Thank you Pal for everything. Yes you are right , the only thing that emerged out of this mess is a beautiful bond of friendship ;)One must thank Blogadda for it πŸ˜€

    I too loved the responses on the thread and the entries you have chosen are really worth reading.

    Everyone did their best. Cheers to all the participants.
    I too will blog about it later. πŸ˜€

    The result made me think too. we all learn at some point of time. This was onesuch experience πŸ™‚

    you are a beautiful human being , just stay that way.

    maybe you can start a contest on your blog on one specific day in the week, would love to participate πŸ˜€

    cheers to you and your hard work.

    hugs and loads of love

  2. Wow, Pals! You did all that! I had no idea! Wow! That is amazing! It deserves an award for itself πŸ™‚

    Anyways, such contests just show the amount of talent around! It is amazing to see the skill and talent of bloggers and we get to read all this and more πŸ™‚

    What an wonderful effort from all of you!

    1. @ Vichu: I wish you had πŸ™‚ But we will have more, on my blog, or a new blog with my blog-buddies and then will you participate?

      @ Tiku: LOL, special thanks to BA for new friendships πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚ Waiting to see your post on it πŸ™‚ And thanks for the suggestion, Tiku. Sounds really good πŸ™‚

      @ PNA: *Bah to modesty!* Yes PNA πŸ™‚ They had made a mention in the post.

      @ Smitha: Awww.. thank you.

  3. OMG after reading all your Dentist and Maid sagas I should have figured out that you are the brain behind this awesome contest which gave me some sleepless nights. You know I almost ended up talking with Lila in my sleep πŸ˜₯

    Hats off to you Pal and yeah it’s a wonderful idea to have such a contest again on your blog and some of us can sponsor the prize what say??? πŸ˜‰

        1. Wowiee!!! Thank you Sakshi..er..Sanski.. what a lovely offer πŸ™‚

          Smitha: Btw, any suggestions on ‘which part’ of Depp ought to be part of the prize πŸ˜‰ πŸ˜‰ πŸ˜‰

        2. I so want Mr.Bajpai to visit all our blogs and know what Saksh darling is upto πŸ˜‰ πŸ˜‰

          Saksh, I cn sponsor a contest if u want on my blog and it cn be ‘heaping praises on Depp’ contest .. what say πŸ˜› πŸ˜›

  4. I’d like to start with a Bravo!!!
    Pal that was indeed a wonderful suggestion on your part to bring in an overwhelming response from the bloggers all over.
    No matter what the results are, but an opportunity to be Sherlock Holmes looking for clues and using up leads to find a killer made the whole blogging world get real busy for those ten days.
    Enjoyed the wonderful plots and loads of possibilities people came up with while solving this mystery. In fact the very first comment I had received on my entry was “Nah, CB…it has to be the Butler”. πŸ˜€ πŸ˜€
    Loved this wrap up post Pal, the wonderful friendships we’ve made in this time are indeed a precious reward of playing the sleuth πŸ™‚

    Keep up the fantastic work Pal πŸ™‚

    Cheers!!

    1. A Biiiiig thank you to you, CB!!! I too loved the various possibilities that people came up with!!!! It was a good story, with ample scope for imagination.. kudos to Ajay once again πŸ™‚

  5. You were the brain behind that one!/ Wow. Impressive πŸ™‚
    Am sure it was a good journey πŸ™‚
    Waiting for the next one πŸ˜‰ Shall participate then!

    Thank you, Scorpia. It was very exciting!

  6. Ah! It no doubt was a lovely idea!!! I too had thought that Lila had killed her sister but was too lazy to develop a story around it πŸ˜€

    Thanks, Smita. I hadn’t thought of that option, so was surprised to see so many bloggers thinking that way πŸ™‚

  7. Hey Pal,
    thanks for d wonderful post. ..it almost feels like closure for a lot of us who went ‘Whhhaaaatt..???’ after the results were out πŸ™‚ N thanks for d gr8 commnet.Has boosted up my Blogger confidence by a notch, no make that 2 notches πŸ™‚
    N BTW, is Pal as in ‘good friend’ or is it more of ‘a moment’ in Hindi..jus wondering…

    Thanks, WA πŸ™‚ Glad of it, then. thanks to Tiku for asking me to comment, and Blogadda for allowing me to πŸ™‚ Seriously, I liked your presentation of the idea so much. A class apart πŸ™‚ Btw, Pal is the first half of my name πŸ™‚

  8. Hey thanks Pal for mentioning my name among the entries that you liked πŸ™‚ Thanks so much πŸ™‚ After the results were announced, I kinda had a shock. Since I had liked many other entries and none of those won. Nice of you to mention all the ones which were really good like GB, CB etc. And you were the brain behind such an interesting contest? Wow! Kudos Pal for that contest. I had lot of fun figuring out the murderer using those clues.

  9. Hey fellow ‘Tiger Trail’er. This contest was a blast. There was a controversy no doubt, but then that perhaps is the indication of the involvement of the bloggers in this contest. Was huge. I had fun participating and then even arguing about the results. πŸ˜‰ Way to go. And a whole load of thanks mentioning my entry. Was cliched, no doubt, but had fun doing it. πŸ˜‰
    So long… And here’s looking forward to BPL. πŸ™‚

    1. @ Avada: Thank you so much! That was kind of you πŸ™‚ And yeah, the results had left many bloggers a little surprised. Choosing a few entries from so many good ones must have been a difficult task!!

      @ Sudhakar: Roarrrrr…. you’re right… controversy shows it was popular πŸ˜‰ LOL! Thanks for that perspective πŸ™‚

  10. Wow!
    Sounds like you guys had a ball! πŸ™‚
    The story lines are pretty awesome! And the best part of such things is the forming of new beautiful friendships! πŸ™‚

  11. You were responsible for all that mayhem???? πŸ˜€ πŸ˜€ πŸ˜€ πŸ˜€

    Jokes apart, that was a wonderful initiative and glad it went well !!! now, whats next ??? πŸ˜‰

    1. @ Pix: Totally agree. Ajay’s story was outstanding. And the friendships, priceless πŸ™‚

      @ Vimmu: Lol, No I wasn’t responsible for the ‘mayhem’. Just the concept πŸ™‚ What’s next? Pssst, that’s a mystery πŸ˜‰

  12. You`ve done an absolutely fabulous job, Pal! I read and re-read the story and I so wanted to participate. Just that I have non-existent detective or analytical skills and couldn’t come up with any idea :):) Congrats on the success!

  13. Pallu, I knew you were the brain behind it. πŸ™‚ When are you coming up with your group blog? I’m sure you will always do the best.

    Aw, Soli. Thanks!!! The group blog thingy isn’t yet into motion. Infact just pondering over the idea. Will keep u updated πŸ™‚

  14. Hey Pallavi,

    Thanks for inviting me to write this. It was a lot of fun. As for results, I am glad I didn’t have to judge this.

    Cheers,
    Ajay

    Roger that, Ajay!! The judge must have had a really tough time!! Thanks once again πŸ™‚

  15. I luvvvv Aryan Khanna and D.O.N’s taklu friend too [so much like Dr.Watson no :P]
    Off to read the full post nw πŸ˜‰

    Awww…yeah that Taklu friend was rather sweet πŸ™‚ Why did they have to kill Aryan though? Silly people!! Depriving poor Indian girls of some eye-candy!! 😦

    1. Kudos to u Pal. What an idea that ws πŸ™‚ I ws drowned in too many things @ work and so cud nt give it a try. But wil surely participate the next time arnd.

      And yes, friendship is the greatest reward πŸ˜€ Yay to that!

      U starting a group blog .. all the best Pal πŸ™‚

      Thanks, Swaram. The group blog thing is still just an idea – WIP πŸ™‚ – not sure if it will materialise though πŸ™‚

  16. Wow congrats Pals… I dont know you Have conducted this…
    Wanted to participate in that but i was stuck up with something or other 😦

  17. I know this is a bit late, I really haven’t been tracking blogadda after that but here are my two cents.

    I think i got it wrong interpreting the rules/objectives.
    my understanding was –

    logically solve the mystery.
    come up with a creative answer.

    So when I got down to slicing and dicing the story,even the logical suicide
    option could be debatable if your really use hard logic.
    that led me to the creative part. What could be the most creative yet logical
    way this incident could have happened.? That was the basis of my analysis.

    But as is clear from the admin comments, they probably wanted this to be a fun
    thing…not to be taken too seriously – well fair enough – like I said maybe I got it wrong.

    I was wondering if we could rake up enough contestants for another whodunit?
    This time the difference being a real murder mystery [as in based on a real incident
    from the cold case files] I can take the responsibility of researching facts and presenting the story and then we can throw it open as a contest.

    The answers of the killer,whether right or wrong will not/canot be debated
    since the real /actual incident will be testimony.

    what do you guys think?

    Cheers,
    Gyanban

So, what do you think?

