A non-post


..and I have nothing to post..

there was one little thought floating about

in my mind on Saturday

but by the time I could catch hold of it,

it had flown away.

Hmm.. oh yes, this particular paragraph has been lying in Drafts for a long long long time now.

I had this unnerving experience at the local grocery store about three months back. I was looking for something on the rack, and a woman clad in burkha (except covering the face) asked me – partially in sign language – ‘What is the PRICE of the itemΒ on the shelf?‘ I told her. But I was shocked that someone could NOT read!! I am not sure if she could read her vernacular language or something. But not knowing numbers was shocking. Even a child can read numbers, can’t they?! It made me wonder, what sort of family did the woman belong to? Some orthodox family that believed in women being solely meant for house-keeping and progeny?!! It was rather saddening 😦

I wish we would all make some tiny contribution to encouraging literacy πŸ™‚ One brilliant suggestion is mentioned here at Quirky’s brilliant post.

Cheerio…

39 thoughts on “A non-post

  1. She probably forgot her glasses !!! and you made her an illiterate !!!! How would anyone not know numbers?? πŸ˜€ πŸ˜€ πŸ˜€ πŸ˜€ I mean, how does she read time from a clock or a watch then ?? πŸ˜€ πŸ˜€ πŸ˜€

  2. Seriously, it is unnerving, isn’t it? There is one mother in Poohi’s school who cannot read/speak English(while living in this country) and I find it quite unnerving too, but not being able to read numbers is far more scary. How can you manage without numbers.. But hopefully it is as Vimmuuu says, she might have forgotten her glasses.

    1. Vimmu – Trust u to come up with that one πŸ™‚ No, she didn’t speak English either, she was mostly miming! I think even not being able to talk the language is OK, but not being able to read numbers is just terrible!

      Swaram – Let me just alter the time stamp to make you First πŸ˜‰ πŸ˜‰

      Smitha – Oh that’s tough.. what is that lady’s mother tongue? I hope she summons enough courage to go and learn English, atleast for her kid’s sake!

      Ritu – LOL! No, the veil wasn’t on. And it sure did look like a woman πŸ™‚ An elderly woman.

    1. Shilpa: LOL! Sure hope not!!!

      Nive: That’s quite bad too, isn’t it? Even I don’t understand how they can survive without these basics!

      Mon: Kudos to you πŸ™‚ Really great job πŸ™‚

      Sanski: Why are you ‘forced to be anon’??? :mrgreen: And like you say, there are lots of such women who are just not taught!! Its really sad. Their entire life goes in cooking and reproducing!!

  3. Some orthodox family that believed in women being solely meant for house-keeping and progeny?!!

    Sounds like a normal ‘Indian’ family. πŸ™‚

    And thank you for the mention.

    Cheers,

    Quirky Indian

  4. oh! this is so so sad 😦

    I hope she learns if she can’t read and if its the glasses, I really hope she remembers to carry it with her!
    How can one manage in a different country which has English as its language!! very sad…

    1. Quirky: Actually yes, that sadly does sound like a ‘normal Indian’ family 😦 And ‘no mention’ πŸ˜‰ πŸ˜‰

      Pix: Yay, you’re back!! Quite sure it wasn’t glasses though. I hope the ‘illiteracy’ ends with this gen atleast.

  5. Had you not brought up this issue, I would never have thought of something like this in this way.
    Like vimmuuu said, probably she’d forgotten her glasses is what actually I would have thought too.
    It is indeed a very scary and sorry state of affairs. You are right Pal, let’s hope it ends with this generation itself.

    1. Chatterbox: I hope Vimmu is right this time, though I have serious doubts about it πŸ™‚ Its an eye-opener though, I believe its men that keep the women illiterate.

      Uma: It is sad indeed 😦 Infact quite shocking. We are all quite fortunate to belong to good families who believe in educating the girl child!!

      Swaram: He he, for a change, we all want Vimmu to be right πŸ™‚ btw, thank you for reading through all those old entries. Will reply soon-est πŸ™‚ And, am adding an Archives widget right away. Thanku thanku πŸ™‚

      Smita: Yeah Smita, unnerving. I guess you’re right, we are surrounded by people who cannot read, but to think that they can survive without that basic knowledge is something I am still not able to digest.

  6. oh my, this is truly shocking! the society is full of such people even today..phew!

    PS: ah, let’s plan Tiger Trails Strategy πŸ˜€

    1. Aathira: Tis 😦

      Neha: It is shocking indeed. And yeah, lets chat on the Tiger trails group. Btw, I did not see one in the forum, did you?

  7. One question what does literacy mean? As per govt. of India’s approach if any one can sign their name in their own language then he/she is literate… knowing English is required ? honestly this way I’ll be an illiterate in Japan or China or any Other country which doesn’t use English as official language …won’t I? πŸ˜€

    1. LR: πŸ™‚

      Dman: You do have a point there, Dhiman. Like I said, I do hope she knows her vernacular.. local language, and it was only a question of English!! And well, not knowing ‘numbers’ is surprising, no?

      1. Not knowing numbers is surprising I agree … …I meant someone freshly “off-the-boat” might have these problems …. hope she learns soon at least the basics πŸ™‚

        I doubt it, Dhiman. If someone cannot read numbers in her middle-age, then what are the chances she would be keen on learning now? Still, I do hope that the majority of you are right in assuming she was either literate in her local language OR that she just misplaced her glasses πŸ™‚

So, what do you think?

