Signing off…


Thank you, folks, for your overwhelming response to my previous post and thank you, Blogadda for showcasing it πŸ™‚

And today, its time to ‘sign off’.

No, I am not taking a blog break or anything of the sort. Am too much of a blog-addict to do that!

I was just clearing up a stack of old emails today. Friends, old schoolmates, collegemates…ex-best-friends.. and every time I had to ‘sign-off’, I was thoroughly at a loss as to what to say!Β In the good old days, it was just a plain, simple ‘Yours lovingly/affectionately’ as the case may be πŸ˜‰

But today…the list is bewildering… Have a peek!

‘Love’ – Ooh la la πŸ˜‰ WTH are you talking about?! You don’t use that word any more! 😯

‘Luv’ – too young…quite unnecessarily close too! Could probably use this to address an old-flame πŸ˜‰

‘Regards’ – too formal…like you don’t know them anymore?! πŸ™„

‘Warm regards’? – Again, formal, and forcibly warm πŸ˜€

‘Best regards’– Sounds like a job application 😦

‘Best wishes’ – Boring!

‘Yours’ – Huh? Crap!

Confusing, isn’t it? This is why I have resorted toΒ a simple ‘Cheers’… as in ‘cheers..have a nice day’ or ‘a toast to being happy..no specific reason’.

So,Β how do you sign off ??

Cheers πŸ˜‰

28 thoughts on “Signing off…

  1. huh? pallavi..I thought u r signing out from my life and our networld…wondering how we would find ppl if they signed off…will never meet, will never call and disppear into the cyber world into our own world where we lived.once upon a time..
    I would sign off as Bye..till then….:))

  2. signing off…yeah it really matters…i just referred my sent items and here it goes….

    Official – Regards
    Not so well known contacts – Thanks (or) Regards
    Friendly mails and chats – “tata” ( childhood habit) at times “bye”
    over excited/got a good news/recvd a favor/best frds/autograph signing (so far only to g.frds :-() – tons of hugs and kisses

    yours is one of the coolest blogs i have ever known…You rock pals!

    1. * Quirky: Cheers to you too πŸ™‚

      * Pushy: No way πŸ™‚ ‘Till then’ sounds nice!

      * Shail: πŸ™‚

      * Hitchy: Definitely passable..infact a few of my friends have also picked up the ‘cheers’ virus from me πŸ™‚

      * Shubha: ‘Tata’ is sooo sweet! And thank you for that wonderful wonderful comment..made my day πŸ™‚

  3. In my letters to frnds, relatives, it is always “love”.

    Sometimes, when I dont want to write specifically “love”, I use “Take Care” before my name.

    Anyway there are so many smileys available to present our current state of mind, too !!!

    Pal, your title to the post, made me rush here !!! πŸ™‚

  4. For me it depends on the person ..

    Lots of love n hugs — close friends n fmly

    Adios.. See ya- for certain other friends

    Buhbyee- for some others

    Actually also depends on my mood πŸ™‚

  5. Cheers is good… me too at times using it…

    but most of the times… its only my name as I don’t find suitable one to but above mt signature πŸ˜‰

  6. For all friends, undergrad,grad,school (unless I had a major fight with them at some point) , I use Love. I include friends’fiance/fiancees and husbands/wifes in the love category even if I have never met them πŸ™‚

    For all others and professional emails, I use Thanks πŸ™‚

  7. Dear me! You gave me a fright! I was like, what? Pallu signing off???

    As for me, I think I use thanks, thanks and regards, or just sign off with my name. With some dear people, I use luv. what does that make me? I wonder now πŸ™‚

    1. * Swaram: Ditto πŸ™‚ He he, didn’t mean to scare anyone πŸ™‚

      * Uma: Awww…thanks for rushing here.. love, P πŸ˜‰

      * Anish: Oooohhh…verrrry interesting… whats happening dude? πŸ™„

      * Aaroo: Me likes ‘Adios’..sounds very cool!

      * Yuva: LOL! Ciao is uber-cool πŸ™‚ I must add that to the auto-signature so I don’t forget πŸ˜€

      * Kanagu: Sometimes even I just use my name, pre-fixed by a ‘-‘. So no confusion there!

      * Pummy: ROFL @ ‘unless major fight’ πŸ™‚ I don’t know, but don’t you think ‘love’ is too special to use for strangers? Or is it just another word… hmm.. thinking..thinking..

      * Smitha: He he…not at all..I’m a blogaholic, remember? And what does using ‘luv’ make you.. er.. a lovable person? (There, I’ve finally jumped onto the ‘{{{{Hugs}}}}’ bandwagon!)

  8. To complete your post:

    ‘Cheers’ – *hic*

    What I use is usually TC, which stands for ‘take care’. For mails, it is regards. For good friends, ‘take care’ is.

    So, to completely complete your post now:

    ‘Take care’ – Oh, cho motherly. Beta/beti khidki se haath baahar mat nikaalna, aur pahunchte hi phone karna!

    πŸ˜‰

    *Hic*

  9. Ok so you are staying in the blogosphere … Thank God! … Now after reading your post I checked my sent items and its strange actually my emails are only official these days… so its ‘With Regards’ …. personal & close communication is by phone, SMS, social networking … maybe email is dying from my personal communication space just like the snail mail… I am surprised … thanks for reminding me…

    1. *Dman: Very interesting..that you use better communication tools than email, for close people πŸ™‚ I still resort to email, even with my dad, he he he!! (Though we also use phone)

      *Deeps: That’s where I am still confused, Deeps. I don’t use ‘love’ anymore for friends or family!! Maybe I’m taking it too seriously πŸ™‚

      ***Thank you, girls and guys, for ‘being startled’ at the title.. ‘secretly’ pleased about it πŸ™‚ ***

  10. Title of your post scared me and was curious to read on…..

    Well my sign offs wud be – for formal mails Regards, something exciting to share cheers, for family it wud be with luv, sometimes just my name or Byeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeee….depends on my mood too πŸ˜‰

    Enjoying ur thoughts and writing style – you rock Pal!!!

    Rashmi

    1. * Rashmi: Thank you so much πŸ™‚ And Byeeeeeeeeeeeeeee sounds very cheerful πŸ™‚

      * IHM: You’re right..didn’t realise Quirky always uses it πŸ™‚ Hope you come back to tell us how you sign off from your mails!

      * Vichu: Smileys again? Arreeee…….

  11. I am glad that I am reading this AFTER your new post!! :mrgreen:
    For, I know you aren’t signing off from here! πŸ˜‰
    I use Cheers, Loads of Love, Love…. for signing off in my emails! πŸ˜€

    Official – Thank you, With regards…
    If it’s an official greeting – With warm regards/best wishes…

    Too much info? πŸ˜€
    Right. stopping now!

So, what do you think?

