My dead grandPaa (part-fiction, part-rant)


Every time I see the Promos for the film ‘Paa‘, I think of how strange it would be if my Grandfather were alive. For some unknown reason, Auro reminds me of the GrandPaa I never had. He died before I was even born.

[Pic courtesy Sulekha dot com]

My only memory of him are fragments of a story I’d heard somewhere, sometime (from my Grandmother, perhaps). That he was on the battlefield, and was severely hurt, along with a friend. And whilst they lay there to die, he felt thirsty, and managed somehow, to find a bottle of water. Just as he was about to take a sip, his friend motioned for some. And this gentleman thought for a second, and then selflessly gave away his water to the friend. And that was the final self-sacrificial of Mr.Raman. (Mr.Raman was my grandfather, as you might have smartly guessed by now).

So that was my impression of this stately looking gentleman. ย Talking of looks, he was dashing! One look at his wedding photographs, and I had this huge crush. ‘Handsome’ would be an understatement.

A few years ago, on a visit to our ancestral village (called Poondi), we had an unforgettable taste of life in the early century (this century, ofcourse. Don’t ask me if it is the 20th or 21st or 22nd century.. am always confused about this logic – apart from many other things, that is).

The entire village was made up of just a few streets. Rows and rows of neatly built houses. Each with a frontyard, cool bench along the wall (to sit and chew paan, perhaps), thatched roof, tiny skylit hall inside, and even tinier bedrooms and bathroom.

At that impressionable age, this only proved to etch my dead GrandPaa’s image deeper in my heart.

So the last time I had a fight with my Mummy, and she said ‘How did you turn out like this? Look at your dad…such a gentleman. And you?!!”, I replied with a quick ‘And you like this? Your Daddy was so noble and you are so immature even at this age!’.

Ofcourse she didn’t take it well. I had to all but hide under the sheets like a trembling coward.

‘Whadya mean NOBLE?’, she thundered.

‘Um…(gasp)…I mean…he ..he..fought in the war!’

‘Which war?’ she boomed.

‘…Uh.. the world war? I dunno! You should know, you were his daughter!’

To my utter surprise, she did not get furious at me at all. Instead she burst out laughing!

I gaped in silence, and in a short while she had tears in her eyes, and her face was red.

‘Mummy…are you Ok?’

‘Do you know how your Grandfather died?’ she answered with a question.

‘Y..ye.yes… in war?’ (I didn’t want her to know that I knew the touching story of his sacrifice).

She again burst out laughing. Her whole body was shaking now, and tears were still streaming down her eyes.

‘He died of heart attack!’, she replied when she could control her laughter for a moment.

‘Heart attack?’, I ventured. ‘Not thirst – on the battle field?’

‘Thirst?!! The only thirst he knew was Whiskey! And what battle field are you obsessed with? He was in merchant navy! Didn’t ever see a battle. Took early retirement, couldn’t control his drinking habit. And one day, he just died of a heart attack, leaving us to fend for ourselves.’

I had just lost a battle of belief. I retreated, hurt.

Never again will I talk of my dead grandPaa. May his soul RIP.

[Edited title from ‘Fictional rant’ to ‘Part fiction part rant’]

25 thoughts on “My dead grandPaa (part-fiction, part-rant)

    1. * Swaram: Thank you ๐Ÿ™‚

      * Vimmu: Changed the title. My grandPaa is indeed dead and gone ages ago, so you may add that ‘RIP’ ๐Ÿ™‚

      1. LOL, glad you mentioned the merchant navy twist. The moment I read your mom laughing, I assumed him to be some cook in the army ! ๐Ÿ˜€ ๐Ÿ˜€

        May his soul RIP.

        But guess what, I had a granddad (mothers side) who was in the army and died because of excessive drinking 9 months before I came into this world. Coincidental or freaky ?

        May his soul RIP too.

        1. ‘Cook’ was hilarious! Sure glad he wasn’t that!
          Btw, do you have half a dollar-pendant or something that we could piece together and ‘discover’ that we are long lost cousins or siblings? Never had a GrandPaa, and never had a brother either. Grandpaa would be a difficult find, but Bro might just materialise ๐Ÿ˜‰

        2. Why are girls hell bent on making me a brother ??? always ?? ๐Ÿ˜€ ๐Ÿ˜€ ๐Ÿ˜€ ๐Ÿ˜€

          Me: Since you are engaged anyway, you are only eligible in the Bro category now!

  1. Even my Grandpa died before I was born, infact my dad was pretty young himself. I have heard stories about him, but well its been a long time since he passed away and not a lot of ppl who knew him are alive, so I guess I will have to make my memories!!!…..
    And btw did u actually say that to ur mom?..I dont think so coz u wud have been dead by know, had u done that!!
    Good post!!!!

  2. Cool post. And i hope that was just a fiction of your imagination. i mean otherwise talking to your mom like that ….no way ….

  3. ๐Ÿ˜€ That was a nifty little twist at the end, Pal! :D. I never knew either of my grandpas much either. They both died when I was quite young. I know of them mostly through the tales told by my parents. And the weirdest thing is the hubby never knew his grandpas either! What on earth were they doing to grandpas of that era?

  4. But this story was told to you by your grand mom, right ????? Then, how come ??????

    Anyway, nice twist to the tale !!!!

    LOL @ โ€˜Thirst?!! The only thirst he knew was Whiskey!’

    May your grandpa’s soul Rest in Peace !!!!

    1. * Lavy darl: Thanke ๐Ÿ™‚

      * Dreamer: Thank you ๐Ÿ™‚ Exactly – (you have been so articulate) – where did all the Grandpaa(s) disappear?!!

      * Pixie: Oh, am so sorry to hear that. Hope the family is coping ๐Ÿ˜ฆ

      * Quirky: The Duh that I am, I need to Google Captain Haddock before I can pretend to post an intelligent response ๐Ÿ˜‰

      * Uma: Wohi toh! I think it was ALL a figment of a young girl’s imagination!

      * Hitchy: How is that possible?

  5. Your post reminded me of my grandpa
    whom I used to look up with much awe
    talking to his clients as he practiced law
    but the most I remember of him is his guffaw.

    Thanks for the chance to think of him.

    Me:
    Welcome back, PRG
    Long time, no see?
    Glad you thought of your Thatha
    And did not give your blog a ‘Tata’
    ๐Ÿ™‚

  6. That was seriously neat… I read it again to actually believe it and then understand it was fiction ๐Ÿ™‚

    Me: Thank you, Prateek! And it wasn’t entirely fiction, you see ๐Ÿ˜‰

  7. That was one tale ๐Ÿ™‚ And you brought the twist so well ๐Ÿ™‚ May your granddad rest in peace ๐Ÿ™‚

    I have been lucky to know both my granddads.

    Me: Thanku Smitha! Lucky you, must have been one pampered brat ๐Ÿ˜‰

  8. Hahaha!! Such a cute and hilarious post. I remember my grandpa from mother’s side and he was sort of a Hitler. ๐Ÿ˜‰ He didn’t like me having pen friends nor the fact that I cut my Rapunzel tresses short while in college.

    Me: Thanks a lot, Shail! Ohh, I would have said the same about your tresses ๐Ÿ˜‰ Hail Hitler ๐Ÿ™‚

  9. Had me laughing aloud , this one. my g’pa passed away before my dad got married and I have not known any of my two sets of grandparents and I am ashamed that I never miss not having known them ๐Ÿ˜ฆ

    Me: Thank you, and Welcome back, Pummy! Not missing something you didn’t have is alright, methinks.

  10. Gosh what a way to break your WARing heart!! tee hee but I can’t stop laughing like your mom. Your grandma was cute to tell you a brave version of the sad ending ๐Ÿ™‚

    I miss my grandpa the most ๐Ÿ˜ฅ as he was the pillar I hid behind when I was sought out by my brothers for all the crimes I did as a kid :mrgreen:

So, what do you think?

