‘In silent sufferance’ – Plane and simple


‘In silent sufferance” is the fortnightly theme on S&Co. and this is my contribution.

Eleven long hours its been,
Since the shores of my homeland seen

The inflight music, an incessant drone
Someone, lend me an ear-phone!

I stretch, I bend, and wince and moan,
Muffled sounds, I piteously groan

I turn to my left, and then to my right,
Arrrgh! This is one horrible night!

Until finally, with valour I stare
At the pot-bellied man, who polished his fare!

He looks at me, lets a toothy smile,
Phew! That gust of wind smells vile!!

The aloo-tikki has done its job
That awful mooli on the hob!

With a happy ‘Burrrrp’, he rubs his tummy
Winks at me, and asks ‘Some rummy?’

I weakly smile, pretend I’m homesick
In unstated misery, I see my watch tick

When? Oh when..will this journey end
Oh! Run for cover! He’s going to bend!

How I wish I could summon the crew
And have thrown this monster, into the loo!

Or push him out of the aircraft? Don’t!!
I would if I could, but I can’t so I won’t!

Please let me know what you think. I think it needs a lot of re-work. Editing, Tweaking, whatever. Suggestions/critique eagerly sought πŸ™‚

30 thoughts on “‘In silent sufferance’ – Plane and simple

  1. Good one Pal!
    You know right? I’m your biggest fan when it comes to your poetry and short stories!! πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚

    Me: Pixu, you are a little darling! Seriously! thank you πŸ™‚ So glad we are friends!

  2. So you were the pretty one sitting on my right
    I thought you looked a little bit dazed and uptight
    reason I gave you that toothy smile to say it’s alright
    now that you’ve said what you thought I feel contrite.

    Pallavi, just beautiful. Perfect! πŸ™‚

    Me: Thank you, PRG, for that lovely verse! So now I know which flights I must avoid πŸ˜‰

  3. I didn’t know that I made you so annoyed
    so as to plan what flights you should avoid
    you have completely my self esteem destroyed
    I am reduced to something less than an android. 😦

    Me: LOL! Wish I could come up with a 4-liner, or even a 2-liner to respond to that!

  4. before I say nething … what is S & Co. ??

    Me: Ooops..sorry, should have made that clearer. Its an informal writer’s forum called Shakespeare and Co, hosted on Ryze network. And you must see the quality of writing there…mind-blowing! I feel intimidated to even post a comment on their work!

  5. heyyy, thats a funny poem ! Wish most of the poems are like this — understand-able πŸ˜‰

    Me: Oh no! Is this understandable? Then its not a poem at all πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚

  6. ROFL πŸ˜€ Nice work, Pal. Humour in verse, not an easy job that. esp liked the line “Oh! Run for cover! He’s going to bend!” πŸ˜€

    Me: Glad you liked it, Dreamer! Thank u so much πŸ™‚

  7. πŸ™‚ LOL πŸ˜†
    I love rhymes that are fun…!!
    Yeah, each and every one πŸ™‚

    Mooli parathas have a bad name
    Rajma and Chole have similar fame?
    But the paranthas are yum
    Superb slurrrrpy ekdum!!
    Only when the finger licking is done πŸ˜†
    Like musical pipes and rolling drum
    Every morsel relished better than whiskey or rum
    Wants to announce it’s presence from the tum πŸ˜‰
    Ah then the real celebrations begin!
    Why does good taste,
    On the way to becoming a waste
    Feel like such a sin 😈
    Pass another one please,
    Add some gobhi and green peas πŸ™‚

    Me: LOL! Wow! Did you write that in a jiffy? That’s cool, IHM!

  8. LOL πŸ˜† Gud one Pal πŸ™‚

    Me: LOL πŸ™‚ Once, there was this lady on the flight, and every time she opened her mouth, I would want to die!!

  9. I love to read poetry… but am bad at being a critique πŸ™‚

    Me: And I don’t even like poetry. I like rhymes and fast-paced poems, though, but simply cannot stand what they call ‘free verse’. πŸ™‚

  10. Thanks for visiting my blog πŸ™‚

    The poem dint look like one written based on a theme.. It was so lively and had a natural flow. Congratulations πŸ™‚

    Me: Thank you for returning the visit, G3. Will be regular on your blog hereafter πŸ™‚ And thank you very much for your words of appreciation πŸ™‚

  11. adutha TR udhayamaagitaanga pola πŸ˜€
    (not sure if u know tamil..next TR on the rising πŸ˜€ cha..major sundarrajan mathiri aidichi πŸ™‚ )

    is this one wrote on a theme!! 2 gud

    Me: Che! Poyium poyium TRaaa? Yes, this is on a theme πŸ™‚

    1. enga thaanai thalaivar TRku ennaga kuraichal…agila ulaga TR rasigarmanram mumbai kilai saarbaaga ithai naan vanmaiyaaga aatchebikiren

      Me: LOL πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚ No comments πŸ˜‰

  12. Seeing a poem I got serious and then you turned it into Laugh riot … πŸ˜€ easier to read a humorous poem ….

    Me: Thank you so much, Dman. I don’t like serious stuff at all πŸ™‚

  13. Dont doubt, Pal – This poem is indeed a very gud one !!!

    BTW, how have u been ??? Its been a long time in Bloggy world, for me. Just finished reading all your blogs, which I missed here. Belated Happy Birthday to your little Aladin FAN !!!! The TAG was interesting and the Dentist episode was super funny !!!! Did u go for the next appt ??? Pl make sure they do the right tooth, this time.

    Me: Thank you for missing me, Ums! I’ve been away too, and just managed to respond to all these lovely comments!

So, what do you think?

