Sugar n Spice


This was the name of a nursery that  my lil cousin went to about 20 years ago! The nursery has gone, the cousin is now married and in a different city, but this name…this name has just stuck with me all these years.

Reading Don Solilo’s post made me feel upset and angry, at the insensitivity and rudeness or people. However, I didn’t want to begin the weekend on a sad note.

So here’s a post listing some of the nicest things people have said over the years.

In other words…here’s some Sugar n Spice 🙂

– The first time I wore a sari at school – the official culturals day or something of the sort – I was this big built Std.X girl, clad (rather, bundled!) in a lovely peach Kora cotton sari – unsure of my gait. I was stumbling across the auditorium trying to find my friends. When, a tiny little girl of about 4 years walked up to me, and said ‘You look so beautiful! When I grow up, I want to look like you!’ And my!! I was flooored!!

– Over a decade down the line, I was this bumbling Project manager – in my first job…with no knowledge of the systems/processes or even the role I was supposed to be handling, and younger than everyone else in the team! When I left the organization after 2 years, my client (who had always been critical of me) said ‘We’ll miss you. Your knowledge has grown tremendously over the last couple of years’. I was thrilled, because this guy never ever complimented anyone! Btw, the ‘miss you’ was added by moi for some spice 😉

– Parenting has been rather tough. Equally rewarding ofcourse, but tough indeed. But I was THRILLED beyond words when my adorable little brat said this!

– And I felt incredibly grateful when I read this from Dmanji: ‘I had been to the indus ladies contest to vote for someone else but your entry bowled me over so in the end voted for you … I hope this entry wins …cheers’

So guys and girls, please do share some of the nicest things people have said about or to you. And let’s make a happy weekend 🙂

Cheerio!!!

19 thoughts on “Sugar n Spice

  1. How I wish we had a device
    that lyse words cold as ice
    and multiplied twice or thrice
    those that were warm and nice.
    Need I say it was concise n precise
    your post called sugar ‘n’ spice.

  2. Such a sweet post! 🙂

    In the last one week I got three compliments.

    1) I bought two candy bars and hung it outside a friends door at midnight with a note inside the bag because it was his birthday. Later that day he told me, “Thanks M. That was the sweetest gesture anyone has shown me.”

    2) I bought a cake for the same friend above, and another friend present at the party texted me later saying, “The cake was simply delicious. I salute your sense of taste.”

    3) A friend was seeking some relationship advice two days back. After talking to me she said, “You know M, I salute you for your thought process and strong head.”

    Yes, a lot of ‘saluting’ happened in the last one week. 😛
    But all the above compliments felt really nice and warm inside. 🙂

    1. @ PRG: The computer-generated monster has given way to a dashing photograph 😉

      @ Smitha: Thank you, and please do share yours too. Want this to be one gooey mushy post from all my blogger friends 🙂
      Btw, which story were you referring to? might pleased, anyway :-)))

      @ Miss M: Whoa! That was awfully sweet of you to have made your friend’s day so special. Well obviously, you deserve all those compliments, and more 🙂 Thank you so much for sharing!

  3. This is a sweet post, Pallu. These are the things which helps us forget the bad ones.

    You know when someone irritates me then I try to remember tha good things they did and try to forget the bad one, it works most of the time. But then there are some who cross the limit at get from me.

    This post of yours is perfect to start the weekend. Happy Independence Day! 🙂

    1. @Soli – That’s quite a noble thing to do…I must try it sometime, though I’m not sure it will work for me!

      @PRG – Ofcourse not! And you’re most welcome 🙂

  4. Lovely Pallu! 🙂
    As always!

    Yes, the good things make us forget the bad moments…
    And always gives the much needed ego boost and happiness!! 🙂 🙂

  5. LOL, do you think people would tell anything nice about me ??? ;P

    They do that only when I sing. The moment I open my mouth to speak, I could find people ready with hockey sticks 😀 😀 😀

    1. @ Pixu – Thanks.. waiting to hear all the lovely things people have said about you. Let me start with this: I think Pix is a lovely little girl, simple and straight-forward and very lovable 🙂 Howzzat?

      @ Vimmu – ROFL! One just has to go through your Comments section to see how very popular you are… especially with the gals 😉

      @ Ani – Awww…that’s sweet 🙂

  6. A friend passed me a note in school once whic said I was the chocolate sauce to her vanilla ice cream. Stll have tht note somewhere 🙂

  7. Hey I too have a special place for “Sugar n Spice” as its a famous Cakes & Pastries chain in Kolkata and me & my friends used to hang around a lot for a special moong laddu …. I try to visit the shop whenever I am in my hometown 😀

    And honestly Pal yours was one of the first blogs that I was following….and the inspiration for writing 55-Fiction was from this blog only…. you deserve every word said for you 😀 …

    1. @ Swaram: 🙂 Makes us more confident too!!

      @ Supps: Aww..that is so sweet! Literally 😉

      @ Dman: Wow…good old days hey? And thanks once again…you always manage to bring out a smile by your generous compliments 🙂

    1. @Piper: Please do, and please put it on your blog so I can read and revel in it too 🙂

      @ RT: Really! When? Where? How? I mean, which year, to keep it simple 🙂 Not that the kids (now adults) would remember anything…still!!

So, what do you think?

