Outfits and insights


There I was, seated daintily in my new black outfit, accessorized with the perfect chandelier earrings, and waiting to be summoned for the crowning event! The dental crown, I mean.

When, I noticed someone sauntering down the aisle. If you asked me, he could have passed off for Ben Affleck! I might have stared at him a moment too long, for his gaze met mine. I quickly ducked behind my magazine.

When I finally summoned the courage to look up… “Nice weather!” came a wonderful baritone voice. Trying in vain to close the mouth that had fallen open, I smiled back at the handsome stranger, wondering if it was my new outfit that had done the trick.

Within a few minutes of our conversation, I was convinced he was Mr.Congeniality. As I drowned into his deep brown eyes, something extraordinary happened. Something that had never happened before. He popped a question! A question that made me all flushed and embarassed at the same time.  He lowered his head slightly, cleared his throat, and whispered: ‘I know this is all too soon. But I’d love…’

‘Huh?!’ I gaped, trying to ignore the butterflies fluttering in my stomach.

‘…I’d love…to ask you…to participate in our brand new weight-loss programme’, he continued, thrusting a brochure into my hands.

‘Huh?’ I repeated. Braving the rebellious pricking sensation in my eyes, I accepted the brochure and filled out the ‘Contact me now!’ section, trembling in complete silence.

After what seemed ages, I had answered all of the inane questions (‘Do you exercise? What lifestyle changes are you planning? Blah.. blah..).

As I handed him the form, our fingers did not brush. There was no delightful tinkling of bells. He stuffed the papers back into his folder without so much as a nod.

Finally, he looked up at me, and said, ‘Thank you, Madame’. I didn’t bother with a reply. Then, with an unmistakeable twinkle in his eyes, added, ‘Beautiful earrings, if I may say so!’

21 thoughts on “Outfits and insights

  1. ha ha! 🙂 what a hilarious read this was! And btw,(this after the comment you left) – I blogrolled you too,some time back Without your permission! Do we need permissions to blogroll? 🙂

  2. Pixie – That’s a sort of consolation prize eh?
    Piper – Was just being all polite and well-mannerdly while asking you earlier. Now that we are formally and officially blog-rolled, we can throw the manners to the whatever 😉
    Solilo – Ha ha ha! That was good. Worth taking a risk and trying?

  3. That was Hilarious. I remember, one such incident, I was waiting outside my princi’s office.. And there was this girl, who was seated outside, doing some paper work, when I went near, she greeted with a smile, asked me to sit down and handed a paper over to me, explaining something about I have no clue, all the time I was vaainoking,

    And I wrote something, and when she left, she said, ” Cute smile.”

    She made me blush, And I didn’t know that she was our princi’s daughter

    And I liked the title, Outfits and insights…

  4. MM – Thank you 🙂
    Roopa – Ahem..somebody’s clearly moving in the right direction 😉
    SMM – Thanks, however, this post was almost entirely fictional. The surveyor (>?!) was just a tired mum with a kid…someone just like me (only, half my size!)
    Arch – Thanks 🙂
    Barath – LOL! Good one! So did you ever get to know what the questionnaire was about? And did you meet her again? Tell all, pliss!!

  5. Samira- Aw…Glad you’ve chosen the right attitude though!

    Rekz- Am sure u are exaggerating (aw..sure I got the spelling wrong!)! Me being so Duh, pl excuse for not getting the ‘pandey’ bit 😦

  6. The ear rings strike again! I have more of those than I have clothes….They seem to do the trick when I have bad hair and puffy eye days which is almost every day! 🙂

  7. Shweta – 🙂 Sounds just like me, though I don’t have too many of those earrings. Must pile up the inventory soon.

    Ipshita – Will courier one to you if you like. Sure aathu-kaarar won’t mind?

  8. Thank you, Shail. Can assure you it was almost entirely fiction. I don’t have any such luck of meeting the likes of Affleck !!

  9. AM late here!!! probably the questionnaire, was something about what is the first thing that appeals to men in women and vice-versa…. Well, though the questionnaire was not that appealing, certainly the girl was???

So, what do you think?

