Change our National song


Firstly, for those of you who think ‘Jana Gana Mana…’ is India’s national song – ‘No, it is not. That is our national anthem!’. Our national song is ‘Vande Mataram’. 

Today, I was trying to teach my son ‘Vande Mataram’. I am rather embarassed that I didn’t know the full text myself, so I played it from Youtube. It sounded so beautiful.

Then, I looked up the translation from Wiki. It was astounding too. Just pasting the first stanza here:

My obeisance to Mother India!
With flowing beneficial waters

Filled with choicest fruits
With Sandal scented winds
Green with the harvest
O mother! My obeisance to you!
Ecstatic moonlit nights
The plants blooming with flowers
Sweet speaker of sweet languages
Fount of blessings,
Mother, I salute you!

Isn’t this beautiful? I mean, a beautiful bunch of words? This is poetry at its best. It made me weep. Weep, BECAUSE THIS IS NOT THE INDIA OF TODAY. Our national song only rings HOLLOW.

India is not rich, not beautiful, not pristine, not amazing.

India does not have flowing, beneficial waters. We only have fights between Tamil Nadu and Karnataka over common waters.

India does not have sandal scented winds. We only had a solitary Veerappan hiding in the sandal forests, while goons disguised as politicians loot our country.

Ecstatic moonlit nights indeed – a two-year old girl gets raped at night. Well done!

Sweet speaker of sweet languages – Of course. The kerala chief minister uses the choicest of languages while talking about a martry’s family.

Mother, I salute you – Sure! We salute you, and we molest your more modern daughters.

This is the India of today. A country, full of perverts, morons and fanatics.

We cannot change our country. But we can change our national song, right?

We need a song that resounds with themes like child abuse, sexual assault, ethnic clashes, political quagmires, poverty, inequality.

Perhaps a westernised Bollywood song like the one from Slumdog Millionarie would do the trick. Portray the real India, and show a bleak ray of hope for the future.

Mebbe we should make ‘Jai Ho’ our national song.  Mebbe comedians like Raj Thackeray and Nirmala Venkatesh could replace Dev Patel and Frieda Pinto, to give it a more realistic and authentic touch.

Jai Ho!!

14 thoughts on “Change our National song

  1. I read this and was going to comment saying that things are surely not so bleak ..
    And then I read your second post and am feeling so sick…all my own optimisim has almost flown out of the window!

    But I say almost…because I am still trying to keep my rose tinted glasses on. As Indians, we have core values and beliefs which are good. I totally agree with everything you have said(with proof) that the actions of a minor few are despicable…But I do hope its not a reflection of our country in general!

    And I hope when Rishi and Arjun grow older they will sing Vande Mataram without the doubts that haunt us.

    You put it so well…made me want to shed a tear for all the wrongs that are being done and for the damange they do to what we stand for!
    Thanks for always giving food for thought!

    -http://www.sanyash.wordpress.com

  2. well,..but the true is not even less 1% billion+ is perverts, morons .. otherwise, our house (back home) will be burning now and our neighbors will be troubling our loved ones.

    and we are now living in the most safest, healthy & peaceful times compare to anytime in past (recorded history).

    while i agree all problem exists but nothing can be solved over a day or decade.. after 400+yr of ruled by foreigners and being free country for 60+yr we have done very well.. (example: look at pakistan.. or other new countries..) we sure have done much better.

    our parents had better ‘free’ life then our grandparents. we had much better life, lifestyle and resources then our parents.. and iam sure our kids will have even better life then us.

    so relax and teach your kid ARR’s vande mataram

  3. I hear you- and understand how you feel. The argument “we are better than…” is a very ridiculous one. We will always be better than the worse places- at worse times- I wonder why we set our bar lower not higher? Maybe as a nation we need to look around and say “we are worse than… lets improve”.

  4. I know.. its sad really…
    Everytime we try to take a step forward, there are goons making us take 10 step backwards…

    And the meaning of Vande Mataram – is simply beautiful 🙂

  5. Yash- That’s positive thinking…I hope too, that our kids see a better India and a safer world.

    Yuva- I tend to agree with Ally’s comments below, that we need to benchmark our country with those that are better, not those that are worse. Did you see the news of the policemen abusing a little child for alleged stealing? Everyday, we come across loads of news like these. So what if our immediate circle of people are fine? The crimes are being perpetrated on someone every moment!
    On a happier note, yes, I have gone ahead and tried to teach Vande Mataram to my kid. Now he knows atleast the words ‘Vande Matazham’.

    Ally- I second you. I only wonder if there’s anything we netizens can do.

    Pix- Right! These goons hate anyone prospering.

  6. Thank you, Salil. I might have over-reacted there…am a little sane now, so might post something more pleasant over the weekend. Cheers..

  7. well..yes but..(eating words.!).. “we are better than..” was not to set low expectation but to see how are we moving (relative to wider world). don’t forget 60yr old free america had slaves & didn’t allow her women to vote.

    all free society will constantly better itself and evolve towards better future. India will do that as well.

    again- we had better life then our parents so will our kids.
    but ofcourse, iam not overlooking the problems and yes its very frustrating to see phase of changes while we are trying to send man to moon while our(country’s) basic ethics & infrastructure needs more work to handle such issues.

    ofcourse my points was not to say all well be happy but while all reality is true it is also true that things can be much worst.
    so letz continue to voice our frustrations without losing HOPE.

  8. Hey, I missed this post. Such strong emotions!!! Don’t get disillusioned. If we do, there is no hope to pass on to the younger generation. Perhaps, illusions are what life is all about. So let us sing Vande Mataram and make life better.

  9. What I find most uplifting [yes I do, for I never give up HOPE :)], is that you actually took time to listen to Vande Mataram, looked up it’s meaning, and not just to write a blog post I am sure, and you want your son to sing it as well 🙂

    Life is tough these days, most of all in our own backyard with the way things are progressing, but instead of sounding beleaguered, a ray of light somewhere will shine, it will, for at some point there will be sane souls who dare to speak, and say that is enough!! I imagine 🙂 Despite all that i seem to spout on my blog too 🙂

    I like the way you write too 🙂 Pallavi 🙂 Thank you for the visit there as well!

  10. Roops: Hmmm..you got a point here..though, sonny likes Jai Ho dance sequence as much as he does ‘Vandey Mathazham’ 🙂

    Usha: Thanks, for the words of hope. Am also thrilled at a compliment from you!!

So, what do you think?

