P.S. I Love You – Book review


All the while I was reading this book, I kept wondering if I had read it before. Why was it  ‘Oh! So familiar!’. Until I realised that this was a neat concoction of various familiar movies/books. Erich Segal’s “Love Story”, “Oliver’s story”, Sex and the City, and oh yes, “The Devil wears Prada”.

“P.S. I Love You” is about Holly, a young widow, trying to cope with life after the death of her beloved husband, Gerry.

What I liked about the book was its detailed characterisation and imagery. I feel like I personally know the Kennedys and all of Holly’s friends. Extremely well-described emotions like anguish, anger and desolation made me grab a handkerchief rather often! Equally so, I couldn’t stop myself from giggling at the funnier moments (as in ‘Girls and the city’).

My only grudge is that the book seemed to drag in a few places. And the names of the lead characters. Don’t “Holly and Gerry” have an eerie resemblance to “Ollie and Jenny” from “Love Story” ?! The sad part is, unlike ‘Ollie’, who was more in control of himself, ‘Holly’ seems to drown in self-pity. Which made me ponder on this: Universally, why should a widow grieve while a widower is expected to move on ?!

Nevertheless, what with the overwheming recession et al, one might as well grab a copy of this book, and enjoy crying over the mush.

—–

P.S: I sorely miss my girlfriends after reading this book!!

11 thoughts on “P.S. I Love You – Book review

  1. Hey I read the book too sometime back…nice book. I was crying in places and then went and gave Arjun a hugggggge biiiiig bone crushing hug 🙂

  2. I read the book too and kind of liked it… I do agree with what you said about the similarities…
    But, it wasn’t as nice as her other book – “Wish I could see you” (Or something along those lines…) I liked that book better. I can’t seem to remember the title very correctly!!

  3. Hmmm Roopa, difficult ques. This is certainly of the chick-lit genre, and it does involve a whole lot of mush. Why don’t you watch the movie instead?

  4. Loved this book …NO preachy stuff no larger than life characters..All an all a believable experience…

    Andto think of that the Author was just 21 when she wrote it…

    1. Indy: Yes, have seen the movie too. But wondering how I missed replying to your comment from 2009!! Amnesia?!

      Nish: Seriously? The author was just 21? That’s awesome. I agree with you in the ‘no larger than life characters’. I Guess thats why the book was a best-seller.. because most people could identify with it.

So, what do you think?

