Where The Mind is Without Fear


I am (as are millions of Indians around the world) yet to recover from the shock of what has happened in Bombay (I can never call it ‘Mumbai’).

And what shocks me is not just the audacious terrorist attack. It is the sheer lackadaisical attitude of our Indian politicians.

How did they have the ba**s to make the following remarks in public:

…that ‘one or two such incidents happen in big cities’?

…that ‘ladies wear lipstick’ and divert attention from the main cause ?

…that ‘The 2 hours delay caused in the NSG’s arrival did not make a big difference’? (courtesy: Abshiek Singh Sanghvi)

…that ‘even a dog would not go there’!

Today, I am thoroughly ashamed of my government. And completely embarassed to see the knee-jerk and utterly CALLOUS reactions of the politicians to the crisis that has just passed by us like a dark cloud.

Today, I am afraid. For my life.

Afraid to visit the theatre.

Afraid to spend time bargaining over knicknacks in the usually crowded streets.

Afraid to visit the bank. The mall. The bazaar!!

Every time I venture out, I wonder – “what if” the terrorists stormed this very street? How will I get back home to my child ?

 

*****   Is ‘living with fear’ the only road ahead ?     *****

 

I am sadly reminded of Tagore’s poem…Where The Mind is Without Fear

Where the mind is without fear and the head is held high;
Where knowledge is free;
Where the world has not been broken up into fragments by narrow
 domestic walls;
Where words come out from the depth of truth;
Where tireless striving stretches its arms towards perfection;
Where the clear stream of reason has not lost its way into the
 dreary desert sand of dead habit;
Where the mind is led forward by thee into ever-widening thought
	and action--
Into that heaven of freedom, my Father, let my country awake.

      -- Rabindranath Tagore


We are a zillion years away from this dream....
2 thoughts on “Where The Mind is Without Fear

So, what do you think?

