My (s)hair of woes!


Inspired by recent posts by Shail’s nest and Tattoo.

Why do (we) South Indians have the stickiest, oiliest, completely lack-of-textur(ish?!) hair in the world? I cringe when I see those familiar thin, curly, sticky little pigtails (rat-tails, if you ask me!). It brings back some uneasy memories… of… of…. why, of me (the school-girl, of course)!!!

A recent visit to the hairdresser left me short…of what…you will soon realise if you are kind enough to read the rest of the post.

I sashayed confidently into the parlour wearing my new sequined kurti from Sona’s boutique. The air-conditioned room was a welcome in itself. But that was the only welcome I received. The girls/hairdressers didn’t bother to even turn in my direction. Even the dazzling sequins didn’t succeed in distracting their attention from the ‘K-soap’ they were watching on TV.

I resigned to meekly asking them for a hair-cut. ‘I’d like a hair-cut…’. They looked at me foggily. Clearing my throat, I repeated myself, this time, more assertively. ‘A HAIR-CUT’. That seemed to work. One of the girls grudgingly stood up, and led me to a nice black leather chair. As I kept my handsome new handbag down, the girl asked me what cut I’d like.

I am not really stingy, but what with the recession and all, I am trying to be penny-wise, these days.

‘Very simple…an ordinary U-cut’, I replied.

The girl was used to clients like me. She got the drift and replied, ‘U-cut is (Rs.)200, straight-cut is (Rs.)150’.

‘Um..Ok..’ I gulped. I was most tempted to ask for ‘A straight-cut please’, but what the heck! I might as well pamper myself, for once. And I didn’t want her to get the better of me!

‘That’s fine’, I croaked, inwardly resenting the extra Rs.50 that I had to shell out now! I could have used that to pay up the ransom that the autorickshaw driver would demand !

I quickly consoled myself, though. Had I been in London, the same would have cost me atleast GBP 35, which is (even with the pathetic exchange rate) Rs. 2618!!!! And all for a fast-thinning bunch of strands.

The girl very slowly removed the cute white hairclip (which by the way, was also sequined!!) I was wearing and left it on the table in front of me. I suppressed a gleeful smile. Finally, a nice hair-cut at an air-conditioned parlour! Yay! Until……I happened to catch her expression in the mirror in front of me.

—-

She shakes her head from side to side.

‘What?’, I wonder.

She parts my hair to make it frame my face. And tilts her head.

I get anxious. ‘Has she found a gaping hole in my skull?’

She disdainfully lifts the hair that barely covers my left ear/cheek and drops it down again. And repeats the same with the other few strands that hang by my right ear.

Anxiety pangs get the better of me. I look up at her beseechingly, like a helpless not-so-little puppy.

She doesn’t seem to thaw! She looks as grim as the steadfast K-Bahu who wallows in self-inflicted misery, and whose reflection now falls in the same mirror in which I see mine !

Finally, the girl breaks the suspense. ‘Madam, your hair is oily’.

‘OK…so ?’

‘So, I can’t cut your hair. It won’t be even!’

‘I don’t mind’, I almost blurt.

‘I can give you a hair-wash and U-cut’, she mysteriously adds.

I helplessly watch on. Waiting for her to utter her golden words.

‘Rs.600’, she adds, almost mockingly.

—–

Needless to say, I returned home. Cut really short. The spirit, I mean !!

11 thoughts on “My (s)hair of woes!

  1. Trailed you from Roopa’s blog….This seems to be a season for haircuts!!!
    I plan to get a trim next week, when I am in Chennai…LOL…Only that instead of Kanya, I will be patronising Bounce which gives me a wash, a damn good hair-cut and styling for 400-500 bucks!!!…
    A worthy investment, recession or not… 🙂 🙂

  2. Ha ha…our hair worries are really turning hilarious :)…i would still call it a good bargain though. jakarta would be slightly more expensive than that!

  3. Shail – I did return the next day though, after a hair-wash, and it wasn’t such a washout this time 😉
    Rekz – ‘Bounce’ eh? Do be kind enough to share the address. Sounds like a fair bargain for a 3-in-1 package!
    Roopa – I know, seems like we are all having a ba(l)d patch 😉 And thanks, for your words of appreciation (did I sound too formal now ??!!)

  4. “…I get anxious. ‘Has she found a gaping hole in my skull?’”

    Hahahhaaaaa… LOL!! I’m sorry, that must have given you a minor panic attack – the stylist shaking her head like that. And these stylists act so uppity sometimes, no? 🙂

  5. Bounce at Ishpani Center [ Nungambakkam ]. Sadly I forgot my little black book on this trip otherwise, I would have given you the numbers as well. You will need to call for an appointment and when you do, insist on one of the male style directors. I find their guys better than the girls…Purely on hair cutting skills!!!
    Good Luck!

  6. Seriously, Kavitha. They act so smart sometimes!! Glad it made you smile, though :-)))

    Rekz, Thanks buddy! Especially for the tip on getting the male directors 😉

  7. pals!!!!! u have a great flair for writing da!! i mean i cud really see the things happening….and infact i was in chennai for 2 days and managed to go for a hair cut…and no points for guessing…i went through the same ordeal!! 250 for a haircut…can u imagine!! thank god i had shampooed at home!

So, what do you think?

